NFL, NBA, NHL stats

John Gilmour Named Wolf Pack's 2018-19 IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year

April 3, 2019 - American Hockey League (AHL) - Hartford Wolf Pack News Release

HARTFORD: The Hartford Wolf Pack are proud to announce that John Gilmour has been named the team's winner of the IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year award for his outstanding contributions to the Hartford community during the 2018-19 season.

Throughout the 2018-19 campaign, Gilmour has been a driving force behind an enthusiastic level of participation by the Wolf Pack players in community relations. He has attended several local youth hockey practices, taking the ice with young players to help them improve their skills, and also assumed a leadership role at the Wolf Pack's "Bowl-a-thon", which raised nearly $5,200 in support of Special Olympics Connecticut. In addition to these specific instances, John has been unfailingly generous with his time throughout his three years with the Wolf Pack, eagerly volunteering for any number of outreach initiatives.

Gilmour is now one of 31 finalists for the AHL's 2018-19 Yanick Dupre Memorial Award, honoring the overall IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year. The league award is named after the former Hershey Bears forward and AHL All-Star who died in 1997 following a 16-month battle with leukemia. The winner of the Yanick Dupre Memorial Award will be announced by the American Hockey League at a later date.

• Discuss this story on the American Hockey League message board...

American Hockey League Stories from April 3, 2019

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Hartford Wolf Pack Stories

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew