Sports stats

 Rockford IceHogs

Kale Howarth Named IceHogs Man of the Year

April 11, 2024 - American Hockey League (AHL)
Rockford IceHogs News Release

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. ... The American Hockey League announced today the individual team winners of the IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year awards, selected by their respective clubs for their outstanding contributions to the local community and charitable organizations during the 2023-24 season.

The Rockford IceHogs have selected Kale Howarth as the team's Man of the Year. Howarth, currently on loan to the Indy Fuel of the ECHL, reached above and beyond this season to make an impact in the Stateline community.

In the build up to the IceHogs' Autism Awareness Night on Jan. 17, Howarth attended multiple Chicago Storm Special Hockey practices to visit with players and cultivate friendship and understanding with the group. He also continued to attend practices after the IceHogs' Autism night had passed, maintaining the relationships he had built. Howarth visited with members of the Easterseals foundation on Jan. 15 to engage with children on the autism spectrum and hear from parents in advance of the game. He formed a close connection with a girl named Emily, who wears number 45 largely because of Howarth. His relationships with the players and their families resulted in meaningful connections, and his personality both encouraged and inspired the individuals he met with. When the Storm captured the Special Hockey Classic, Howarth joined multiple players' celebrations when they received their 'day with the banner'.

From this list of finalists, representatives from IOA/American Specialty and the AHL will choose the winner of the 2023-24 Yanick Dupré Memorial Award. The AHL's annual Man of the Year award is named after the late Yanick Dupré, who died in 1997 at the age of 24 following a 16-month battle with leukemia. Dupré, an AHL All-Star in 1995, played four seasons with the Hershey Bears and also skated in 35 National Hockey League games with the Philadelphia Flyers.

This year's winners of the IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year awards are:

Chase Wouters, Abbotsford Canucks (2nd career selection)

Lane Pederson, Bakersfield Condors (1st)

Jacob Larsson, Belleville Senators (1st)

Cole Bardreau, Bridgeport Islanders (1st)

Oscar Dansk, Calgary Wranglers (3rd)

Brendan Perlini, Charlotte Checkers (1st)

Dominic Franco, Chicago Wolves (2nd)

Brendan Gaunce, Cleveland Monsters (1st)

Cameron Hughes, Coachella Valley Firebirds (1st)

Brad Hunt, Colorado Eagles (1st)

Josiah Didier, Grand Rapids Griffins (2nd)

Brett Berard, Hartford Wolf Pack (1st)

Dysin Mayo, Henderson Silver Knights (1st)

Jake Massie, Hershey Bears (1st)

Kale Kessy, Iowa Wild (2nd)

Lucas Condotta, Laval Rocket (2nd)

Adam Brooks, Lehigh Valley Phantoms (2nd)

Jimmy Oligny, Manitoba Moose (5th)

Troy Grosenick, Milwaukee Admirals (3rd)

Akil Thomas, Ontario Reign (1st)

Michael Callahan, Providence Bruins (1st)

Zach Metsa, Rochester Americans (1st)

Kale Howarth, Rockford IceHogs (1st)

Travis Howe, San Diego Gulls (1st)

Ethan Cardwell, San Jose Barracuda (1st)

Drew Callin, Springfield Thunderbirds (1st)

Daniel Walcott, Syracuse Crunch (5th)

Curtis McKenzie, Texas Stars (2nd)

Joseph Blandisi, Toronto Marlies (1st)

Cameron Hebig, Tucson Roadrunners (1st)

Joe Gambardella, Utica Comets (1st)

Jack St. Ivany, Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins (1st)

The winner of the 2023-24 Yanick Dupré Memorial Award will be announced later this month.

The IceHogs travel to Van Andel Arena on Friday, Apr. 12 to take on the Grand Rapids Griffins with puck drop at 6 p.m. CT.

• Discuss this story on the American Hockey League message board...

American Hockey League Stories from April 11, 2024

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

OurSports Central