NFL, MLB, CFL stats

Real Salt Lake Announces 2021 Roster Decisions

November 30, 2020 - Major League Soccer (MLS) - Real Salt Lake News Release

SANDY, Utah - Real Salt Lake today announced several roster updates ahead of the 2021 season. Real Salt Lake exercised the contract options on eight players from its 2020 roster. With 14 other returning players under contract and three additional players already signed ahead of the 2021 season, the announcement gives RSL 25 players on its current roster.

RSL General Manager Elliot Fall will be available via video conference at 1 p.m. MT. Contact the RSL PR staff at for information.

Real Salt Lake exercised the options of goalkeeper David Ochoa; defenders Justen Glad and Erik Holt; midfielders Everton Luiz and Justin Portillo; and forwards Maikel Chang, Douglas Martinez and Tate Schmitt.

After three seasons with the club and 17 in professional soccer, defender Nedum Onuoha announced his retirement at the end of the 2020 season.

In addition, RSL announced that it has declined the contract options of defender Alvin Jones; midfielder Luis Arriaga; and forwards Giuseppe Rossi and Julian Vazquez. Goalkeeper Andrew Putna and midfielders Kyle Beckerman and Luke Mulholland are out of contract. Conversations about returning to the roster in 2021 are ongoing with a number of players.

The 2020 MLS Expansion Draft is scheduled for Tuesday, December 15 with the End-of-Year Waivers scheduled for Wednesday, December 16 at 11:00 a.m. MT. Free Agency is also beginning at that time. Additionally, the MLS Re-Entry Process begins with Stage 1 on Thursday, December 17, while Stage 2 of the Re-Entry Process is set to take place on Tuesday, December 22. A full MLS list of players eligible for Free Agency, End-of-Year Waivers and the Re-Entry Process will be announced by the League at a later date.

Real Salt Lake's current roster headed into 2021, listed alphabetically by position, is below:

Goalkeepers (2): Zac MacMath, David Ochoa

Defenders (7): Justen Glad, Aaron Herrera, Erik Holt, Ashtone Morgan, Noah Powder, Marcelo Silva, Donny Toia

Midfielders (7): Nick Besler, Bode Davis, Damir Kreilach, Everton Luiz, Justin Portillo, Pablo Ruiz, Albert Rusnák

Forwards (9): Corey Baird, Andrew Brody, Maikel Chang, Chris Garcia, Milan Iloski, Douglas Martinez, Justin Meram, Jeizon Ramirez, Tate Schmitt

• Discuss this story on the Major League Soccer message board...

Major League Soccer Stories from November 30, 2020

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

OurSports Central