Major League Soccer

Diego Rossi Becomes Youngest Player in History to Win MLS Golden Boot Presented by Audi

November 8, 2020 - Major League Soccer (MLS) News Release

NEW YORK - Los Angeles Football Club forward Diego Rossi tonight won the 2020 Major League Soccer Golden Boot presented by Audi, at age 22 becoming the youngest player in MLS history to lead the league in goals scored. Rossi led MLS with 14 goals scored across 19 matches played this season, with a career-high goals-per-game average of .737 on the year.

The Uruguay National Team member earns his fourth individual honor this season after a tremendous performance at the MLS is Back Tournament where he also won the Golden Boot presented by Audi with seven goals scored. Rossi was also named the MLS is Back Young Player of the Tournament presented by AT&T5 5G and to the tournament Best XI presented by BODYARMOR.

Rossi becomes the youngest player to lead the league in goals scored, besting Carlos Ruiz who led MLS with 24 goals in 2002 at 23 years old. That same year, before the Golden Boot was officially awarded, Taylor Twellman at age 22 was named the MLS Scoring Champion with the most points from combined goals and assists.

Through his prolific goalscoring efforts, Rossi has raised $20,000 for the LAFC Academy through the 'Audi Goals Drive Progress' program, a multi-year initiative launched by Audi and dedicated to expanding the breadth of academy resources through contributions toward player education, housing and transportation. The funds raised by Rossi - a $10,000 contribution for winning the Golden Boot and an additional $10,000 for winning the MLS is Back Tournament Golden Boot presented by Audi - will be used by the LAFC Academy to ensure young players are supported as they endeavor to maintain excellence on the pitch and in the classroom.

"Since 2015, Audi has been proud to support MLS and its journey to showcase the best soccer talent in the world," said Loren Angelo, vice president of Marketing, Audi of America. "We're thrilled to congratulate Diego Rossi on his Golden Boot win, and look forward to both his continued success on the pitch, but also the success of the 'Audi Goals Drive Progress' program and its pursuit to grow the sport of soccer in America."

Rossi helped LAFC to a league-leading 47 goals scored in the regular season this year, with their 2.14 goals-per-game average standing as the seventh-most in league history.

Major League Soccer Golden Boot/Scoring Champion winners

Season Player Team Goals/Points (G/A)

2020 Diego Rossi Los Angeles Football Club 14 goals

2019 Carlos Vela Los Angeles Football Club 34 goals

2018 Josef Martínez Atlanta United 31 goals

2017 Nemanja Nikolić Chicago Fire 24 goals

2016 Bradley Wright-Phillips New York Red Bulls 24 goals

2015 Sebastian Giovinco Toronto FC 22 goals

2014 Bradley Wright-Phillips New York Red Bulls 27 goals

2013 Camilo Sanvezzo Vancouver Whitecaps FC 22 goals

2012 Chris Wondolowski San Jose Earthquakes 27 goals

2011 Dwayne De Rosario D.C. United 16 goals

2010 Chris Wondolowski San Jose Earthquakes 18 goals

2009 Jeff Cunningham FC Dallas 17 goals

2008 Landon Donovan Los Angeles Galaxy 20 goals

2007 Luciano Emílio D.C. United 20 goals

2006 Jeff Cunningham Real Salt Lake 16 goals

2005 Taylor Twellman New England Revolution 17 goals

2004 Amado Guevara MetroStars 30 (10g, 10a)

Pat Noonan New England Revolution 30 (11g, 8 a)

(TOP 3: Amado Guevara, MetroStars (10g, 10a = 30 pts); Pat Noonan, New England Revolution (11g, 8a = 30 pts); Brian Ching, San Jose Earthquakes (12g, 4a = 28 pts)

2003 Preki Kansas City Wizards 41 (12g, 17a)

(TOP 3: Preki, Kansas City Wizards (12g, 17a = 41 pts); Carlos Ruiz, L.A. Galaxy (15g, 5a = 35 pts); Ante Razov, Chicago Fire (14g, 6a = 34 pts); Taylor Twellman, New England Revolution (15g, 4a = 34 pts)

2002 Taylor Twellman New England Revolution 52 (23g, 6a)

(TOP 3: Taylor Twellman, New England Revolution (23g, 6a = 52 pts); Carlos Ruiz, Los Angeles Galaxy (24g, 1a = 49 pts); Jeff Cunningham, Columbus Crew (16g, 5a = 37 pts)

2001 Alex Pineda Chacón Miami Fusion 47 (19g, 4a)

(TOP 3: Alex Pineda Chacón, Miami Fusion (19g, 4a = 47 pts); Diego Serna, Miami Fusion, (15g, 15a = 45 pts); John Spencer, Colorado Rapids, (14g, 7a = 35 pts)

2000 Mamadou Diallo Tampa Bay Mutiny 56 (26g, 4a)

(TOP 3: Mamadou Diallo, Tampa Bay Mutiny (26g, 4a = 56 pts); Clint Mathis, Los Angeles/MetroStars, (16g, 14a = 46 pts); Ante Razov, Chicago Fire (18g, 6a = 42 pts); Diego Serna, Miami Fusion, (16g, 10a = 42 pts)

1999 Jason Kreis Dallas Burn 51 (18g, 15a)

(TOP 3: Jason Kreis, Dallas Burn (18g, 15a = 51 pts); Roy Lassiter, D.C. United, (18g, 11a = 47 pts); Ronald Cerritos, San Jose Clash (15g, 9a = 39 pts)

1998 Stern John Columbus Crew 57 (26g, 5a)

(TOP 3: Stern John, Columbus Crew (26g, 5a = 57 pts); Cobi Jones, Los Angeles Galaxy (19g, 13a = 51 pts); Welton, Los Angeles Galaxy (17g, 11a = 45 pts)

1997 Preki Kansas City Wizards 41 (12g, 17a)

(TOP 3: Preki, Kansas City Wizards (12g, 17a = 41 pts); Jaime Moreno, D.C. United, (16g, 8a = 40 pts); Raul Diaz Arce, D.C. United (15g, 6a = 36 pts)

1996 Roy Lassiter Tampa Bay Mutiny 58 (27g, 4a)

(TOP 3: Roy Lassiter, Tampa Bay Mutiny (27g, 4a = 58 pts); Preki, Kansas City Wiz (18g, 13a = 49 pts); Eduardo Hurtado, Los Angeles Galaxy, (21g, 7a = 49 pts)

* up to the 2004 season, the Scoring Champion was determined by total points, with a goal counting two points and assists counting as one. Beginning in 2005, the title was renamed the Golden Boot, and awarded to the leading goalscorer in the season. In case of a tie, the winner will be decided by the player with the most assists; if still tied, the winner will be the player with fewer minutes played.

• Discuss this story on the Major League Soccer message board...

Major League Soccer Stories from November 8, 2020

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central