Sports stats

 Philadelphia Union

Schedule Announced for 2023 Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League Quarterfinals

March 17, 2023 - Major League Soccer (MLS)
Philadelphia Union News Release

Miami, FL. - Concacaf has today announced the schedule for the 2023 Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League (SCCL) Quarterfinal matches. The four home-and-away series matchups will take place between April 4-5 (first leg matches) and April 11-13 (second leg matches).

The first round of the region's premier competition for clubs culminated on Thursday night, with eight teams advancing, including former champions Tigres, plus Haitian club Violette, 2020 SCCL runners-up Los Angeles FC, Philadelphia Union, SCCL debutants Atlas, Vancouver Whitecaps, Honduran side Motagua, and Club Leon.

For the latest SCCL news, results, and highlights, click here.

The competition's bracket is available here and below.

The 2023 SCCL Quarterfinals schedule is as follows (ET/local time and home team listed first):

Quarterfinals: First Legs

Tuesday, April 4, 2023

20:00 (20:00) Philadelphia Union (USA) vs Atlas FC (MEX) - Subaru Park, Chester, PA, USA

22:00 (20:00) Club Leon (MEX) vs Violette AC (HAI) - Estadio Leon, Leon, Mexico

Wednesday, April 5, 2023

20:00 (18:00) FC Motagua (HON) vs Tigres UANL (MEX) - Estadio Olímpico Metropolitano, San Pedro Sula, Honduras

22:00 (19:00) Vancouver Whitecaps FC (CAN) vs. Los Angeles FC (USA) - BC Place, Vancouver, Canada*

Quarterfinals: Second Legs

Tuesday, April 11, 2023

20:00 (20:00) Violette AC (HAI) vs Club Leon (MEX) - Estadio Cibao FC, Santiago, Dominican Republic

22:15 (19:15) Los Angeles FC (USA) vs Vancouver Whitecaps FC (CAN) - BMO Stadium, Los Angeles, CA, USA*

Wednesday, April 12, 2023

22:00 (20:00) Atlas FC (MEX) vs Philadelphia Union (USA) - Estadio Jalisco, Guadalajara, Mexico

Thursday, April 13, 2023

22:00 (20:00) Tigres UANL (MEX) vs FC Motagua (HON) - Estadio Universitario, Monterrey, Mexico

*Due to stadium availability, the first leg of the series between LAFC and Vancouver Whitecaps will be played in Vancouver, followed by the second leg in Los Angeles. This switch was agreed with both clubs.

Fans will be able to enjoy all matches through the Confederation's TV partner networks, including TUDN | ViX (USA-Spanish), Fox Sports | Tubi (USA-English), Fox Sports (Mexico), ESPN (Central America, Caribbean, and South America), and other local partners. For other territories, matches will be available on Concacaf's Official App and YouTube channel (all subject to territory restrictions).

2023 SCCL Schedule Windows

The Quarterfinals will be followed by the first leg Semifinals in April, and the return leg Semifinals and first leg Final in May. The all-decisive return leg Final, where the region's new champion will be crowned, will take place Sunday, June 4, 2023, and will be hosted by the best performing finalist club in the earlier rounds of the competition.

Quarterfinals: April 4-6 (first legs) and April 11-13 (second legs)

Semifinals: April 25-27 (first legs) and May 2-4 (second legs)

Finals: May 31 (first leg) and June 4 (second leg)

For all rounds of the competition, the pairings have been determined by the competition's bracket and the home club for the return leg of each series will be determined per round as follows:

Round of 16: Clubs from Pot 1 (highest ranked)

Quarterfinals: Clubs from the Round of 16 matchups 1, 3, 5, and 7

Semifinals and Final: Best performing clubs in the earlier rounds of the competition (based on wins, draws, and, if required, goal difference).

Seattle Sounders FC are current SCCL champions after they defeated Liga MX side Pumas Unam 5-2 on aggregate. With the title win, the Sounders cemented their place in SCCL history as the first winner from MLS in the SCCL era and the first Concacaf champion from the United States since the Los Angeles Galaxy in 2000.

New Format From 2024

From 2024 onwards, the SCCL will be replaced by an expanded 27-club Concacaf Champions League. The Confederation-wide competition will include five rounds (Round One, Round of 16, Quarterfinals, Semifinals, and Final) and will continue to be played in a direct elimination format.

Furthermore, the Scotiabank Concacaf League will be replaced by three regional cup competitions - Leagues Cup, Central American Cup, and Caribbean Cup, that will be played in the fall of each year. These three new cups will qualify clubs for the expanded Champions League.

• Discuss this story on the Major League Soccer message board...

Major League Soccer Stories from March 17, 2023

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

OurSports Central