NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Florida's Saviano Wins ECHL Sportsmanship Award

April 6, 2006 - ECHL (ECHL) News Release

PRINCETON, N.J. - The ECHL on Thursday announced that Florida Everblades right wing Steve Saviano is the recipient of the Sportsmanship Award for 2005-06 as voted by league coaches.

The award is presented annually to the player who is judged to have exhibited the best sportsmanship combined with a high standard of playing ability.

Scott Cameron, who began the season with Dayton and is now with South Carolina, and Jeff Campbell of the Gwinnett Gladiators finished tied for second.

In his second professional season, the 24-year-old Saviano has four penalty minutes in 42 games with the Everblades and he is tied for the team lead with five game-winning goals and is second with 45 assists, 70 points, 25 power-play points and a plus-minus rating of +28. In his rookie season with Florida, Saviano had 52 points (14g-38a) in 58 regular season games for and he played six games in the AHL with Lowell where he had one assist. He led the Everblades in the postseason with 14 assists and was second on the team with 18 points in 17 games, helping the Everblades reach the Kelly Cup Finals for the second year in a row.

The recipient of the CCM TACKS Rookie of the Year will be announced on Friday.

ECHL Sportsmanship Award Winners
2005-06 Steve Saviano, Florida Everblades
2004-05 Kris Goodjohn, Gwinnett Gladiators
2003-04 Mark Pederson, San Diego Gulls
2002-03 Rejean Stringer, Columbia Inferno
2001-02 Ben Stafford, Trenton Titans
2000-01 Jamie Ling, Dayton Bombers
1999-00 Jamie Ling, Dayton Bombers
1998-99 Jamie Ling, Dayton Bombers
1997-98 Cal Ingraham, Tallahassee Tiger Sharks
1996-97 Mike Ross, South Carolina Stingrays

• Discuss this story on the ECHL message board...

ECHL Stories from April 6, 2006

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew