NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Philadelphia Union Announce Protected List for 2018 MLS Expansion Draft

December 10, 2018 - Major League Soccer (MLS) - Philadelphia Union News Release

CHESTER, Pa. - Philadelphia Union today announced their protected list for the 2018 MLS Expansion Draft. Scheduled for Tuesday, December 11 at 2:00 p.m. ET, the Expansion Draft gives FC Cincinnati the opportunity to add five players to their roster, with only a single player able to be drafted from any one club.

Protected from selection by FC Cincinnati are the following players: David Accam, Alejandro Bedoya, Andre Blake, Cory Burke, Jack Elliott, Raymon Gaddis, Ilsinho, Olivier Mbaizo, Fafa Picault, Keegan Rosenberry and CJ Sapong.

Additionally, the following Union players are automatically protected as Homegrown Players on the club's Supplemental or Reserve roster: Brenden Aaronson, Anthony Fontana, Derrick Jones, Mark McKenzie, Matt Real and Auston Trusty.

The five teams who had players selected by the Los Angeles Football Club during the 2017 MLS Expansion Draft are exempt from this year's edition: Seattle Sounders FC, Sporting Kansas City, the San Jose Earthquakes, Columbus Crew SC and Toronto FC.

The other 18 returning MLS clubs that competed during the 2018 season can protect 11 players between their Senior, Supplemental and Reserve Roster. If the player's contract expires at the end of 2018, as is the case with Raymon Gaddis, he will still be considered part of the club's Senior Roster. For a club that has a player claimed from their unprotected roster, that team will receive $50,000 in General Allocation Money for the selection.

• Discuss this story on the Major League Soccer message board...

Major League Soccer Stories from December 10, 2018

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.