NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Dynamo Protect 11 Players Ahead of MLS Expansion Draft

December 10, 2018 - Major League Soccer (MLS) - Houston Dynamo News Release

HOUSTON - The Houston Dynamo have officially protected 11 players in advance of Tuesday's MLS Expansion Draft, the club announced today. By protecting the players, they cannot be selected by FC Cincinnati, Major League Soccer's newest team. The Expansion Draft is scheduled for Tuesday, December 11 at 1 p.m. CST.

Houston Dynamo Protected Players:

MF Juan David Cabezas

MF Darwin Cerén

DF A.J. DeLaGarza

FW Alberth Elis

DF Alejandro Fuyenmayor

DF Adam Lundkvist

FW Mauro Manotas

MF Tomás Martínez

FW Ronaldo Peña

FW Romell Quioto

GK Joe Willis

Additionally, goalkeeper Tyler Deric, defender Erik McCue and midfielder Memo Rodriguez are classified as Homegrown Players and are not eligible for selection, and therefore did not have to be included on the list of protected players.

FC Cincinnati may select up to five players from the eligible MLS player pool in Tuesday's draft. Only a single player can be drafted from any one club. The five teams who had players selected by the Los Angeles Football Club during the 2017 MLS Expansion Draft are exempt from the 2018 Expansion Draft. Those clubs are Seattle Sounders FC, Sporting Kansas City, the San Jose Earthquakes, Columbus Crew SC and Toronto FC.

• Discuss this story on the Major League Soccer message board...

Major League Soccer Stories from December 10, 2018

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.