NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Florida Claims 2017-18 Brabham Cup

April 6, 2018 - ECHL (ECHL) News Release

PRINCETON, N.J. - The Florida Everblades clinched the 2017-18 Brabham Cup championship on Thursday by virtue of their 5-1 win at Jacksonville.

The Brabham Cup is the trophy awarded annually to the ECHL team that finishes with the most points in the regular season. The recipient is guaranteed home-ice advantage throughout its participation in the Kelly Cup Playoffs.

With the win, Florida improved its record to 51-13-6 for 108 points and captures the ECHL regular-season title for the third time in team history after previously capturing Brabham Cup titles in 1999-2000 and 2008-09. The Everblades' 51 wins this season are two off the club record of 53 set in 1999-2000.

The Everblades captured the South Division championship for the second year in a row and for the third time in the last four seasons. Florida, which has reached the Kelly Cup Playoffs 19 times in its 20 seasons, has won six division titles, and won the Kelly Cup in 2012.

The award is named in recognition of Henry Brabham, who founded the ECHL in 1988-89 with five teams in four states. Brabham, who was the first inductee into the ECHL Hall of Fame in 2008, owned three of the original five teams. The dedication of the Virginia businessman was crucial to the league surviving to span from coast-to-coast while advancing over 640 players and countless coaches, on-ice officials and front office personnel to the National Hockey League.

Brabham Cup Champions

2017-18 Florida Everblades

2016-17 Toledo Walleye, 106 points

2015-16 Missouri Mavericks, 109 points

2014-15 Toledo Walleye, 107 points

2013-14 Alaska Aces, 97 points

2013-14 Alaska Aces, 106 points

2011-12 Alaska Aces, 97 points

2010-11 Alaska Aces, 97 points

2009-10 Idaho Steelheads, 103 points

2008-09 Florida Everblades, 103 points

2007-08 Cincinnati Cyclones, 115 points

2006-07 Las Vegas Wranglers, 106 points

2005-06 Alaska Aces, 113 points

2004-05 Pensacola Ice Pilots, 107 points

2003-04 San Diego Gulls, 108 points

2002-03 Toledo Storm, 104 points

2001-02 Louisiana Ice Gators, 116 points

2000-01 Trenton Titans, 104 points

1999-00 Florida Everblades, 108 points

1998-99 Pee Dee Pride, 106 points

1997-98 Louisiana Ice Gators, 96 points

1996-97 South Carolina Stingrays, 100 points

1995-96 Richmond Renegades, 105 points

1994-95 Wheeling Thunderbirds, 97 points

1993-94 Knoxville Cherokees, 94 points

1992-93 Wheeling Thunderbirds, 88 points

1991-92 Toledo Storm, 95 points

1990-91 Knoxville Cherokees, 97 points

1989-90 Winston-Salem Thunderbirds, 82 points

1998-89 Erie Panthers, 77 points

• Discuss this story on the ECHL message board...

ECHL Stories from April 6, 2018

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew