Sports stats

 Moose Jaw Warriors

Firkus Captures the Four Broncos Memorial Trophy

May 9, 2024 - Western Hockey League (WHL)
Moose Jaw Warriors News Release

Moose Jaw, SK - Jagger Firkus has become the second Moose Jaw Warrior to win the Four Broncos Memorial Trophy as the Western Hockey League's Player of the Year.

The Seattle Kraken prospect was announced as this year's winner during the WHL Prospects Draft Show on Thursday.

"It's an honour to receive the Four Broncos Memorial Trophy," Firkus said. "I want to congratulate the other four division winners, thank you to the staff and my teammates, without them this doesn't happen, and thank you to my family as well."

The Irma, AB product put together an incredible 2023-24 season that saw him lead the Canadian Hockey League in scoring with 126 points (61 goals and 65 assists) and earning the Bob Clarke Trophy as the WHL's top scorer.

Firkus and teammate Matthew Savoie were the only players in the WHL to average over two points per game.

During the 2023-24 season, Firkus moved into fourth all-time in scoring in Warriors' history with 310 career points, sitting behind only Theoren Fleury, Chad Hinz and Brayden Point.

Firkus joins Dryden Hunt as the only players in franchise history to win the Four Broncos Memorial Trophy.

He edged out Zac Funk of the Prince George Cougars, Berkly Catton of the Spokane Chiefs and Conor Geekie of the Swift Current Broncos.

With Firkus capturing the Four Broncos Memorial Trophy, he joins Denton Mateychuk and Brayden Yager as award winners this year, the most in one season in Warriors' history.

Firkus will now look to win the CHL Player of the Year award at the 2024 Memorial Cup in Saginaw, MI.

• Discuss this story on the Western Hockey League message board...

Western Hockey League Stories from May 9, 2024

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

OurSports Central