NFL, MLB, CFL stats

Alaska Wins Brabham Cup

April 3, 2011 - ECHL (ECHL) News Release

PRINCETON, N.J. - The Alaska Aces clinched their second-ever Brabham Cup championship on Saturday with a 4-1 win at Victoria.

The Aces finished the regular season 47-22-3 and led the ECHL with 97 points. Alaska has secured a first-round bye in the Kelly Cup Playoffs, and will meet the winner of the Las Vegas and Idaho matchup in the Western Conference Semifinals.

The Brabham Cup is the trophy awarded annually to the ECHL team that finishes with the most points in the regular season. The recipient is guaranteed home-ice advantage throughout its participation in the Kelly Cup Playoffs.

The award is named in recognition of Henry Brabham, who founded the ECHL in 1988-89 with five teams in four states. Brabham, who was the first inductee into the ECHL Hall of Fame in 2008, owned three of the original five teams. The dedication of the Virginia businessman was crucial to the league surviving to span from coast-to-coast while advancing 465 players and countless coaches, on-ice officials and front office personnel to the National Hockey League.

Alaska won its first Brabham Cup championship in 2005-06 when it led the ECHL with 113 points. The Aces went on to defeat Gwinnett in five games to become just the second team in ECH history to win both the Brabham Cup and Kelly Cup in the same season. Alaska has qualified for the Kelly Cup Playoffs in each of its eight seasons in the ECHL, and has advanced past the first round in six of the previous seven seasons.

Brabham Cup Trophy Winners

2010-11 Alaska Aces 97 points

2009-10 Idaho Steelheads 103 points

2008-09 Florida Everblades 103 points

2007-08 Cincinnati Cyclones 115 points

2006-07 Las Vegas Wranglers 106 points

2005-06 Alaska Aces 113 points

2004-05 Pensacola Ice Pilots 107 points

2003-04 San Diego Gulls 108 points

2002-03 Toledo Storm 104 points

2001-02 Louisiana Ice Gators 116 points

2000-01 Trenton Titans 104 points

1999-00 Florida Everblades 108 points

1998-99 Pee Dee Pride 106 points

1997-98 Louisiana Ice Gators 96 points

1996-97 South Carolina Stingrays 100 points

1995-96 Richmond Renegades 105 points

1994-95 Wheeling Thunderbirds 97 points

1993-94 Knoxville Cherokees 94 points

1992-93 Wheeling Thunderbirds 88 points

1991-92 Toledo Storm 95 points

1990-91 Knoxville Cherokees 97 points

1989-90 Winston-Salem Thunderbirds 82 points

1998-89 Erie Panthers 77 points

• Discuss this story on the ECHL message board...

ECHL Stories from April 3, 2011

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central