NFL, NBA, NHL stats



United Soccer League Announces 2019 Sounders FC 2 Schedule

December 19, 2018 - United Soccer League Championship (USL) - Tacoma Defiance News Release

SEATTLE, WASH. - The United Soccer League on Wednesday unveiled the complete 2019 schedule, with Sounders FC 2 hosting 17 matches at Cheney Stadium during the club's second campaign in Tacoma. The 34-game slate begins on Saturday, March 9 with a home match against Rio Grande Valley FC. Kickoff times for each game are being announced at a later date.

S2 will play four of its first five matches of the season at home, followed by five consecutive road games from April 10-May 4. Cascadia rival Portland Timbers 2 visits Cheney Stadium on Sunday, May 12, while Seattle travels to Portland on Sunday, September 22.

Charis Wilson / Sounders FC

Building off a historic season that saw almost three million fans attend games in the 2018 regular season and USL Cup Playoffs, the 2019 USL Championship regular season will see the league's 36 teams play home-and-home series within its own conference. All of the action will be available digitally through ESPN+, with future announcements regarding the league's national television schedule being made at a future date.

Saturday night contests dominate the 2019 regular-season schedule, with almost three-quarters of the league's games (455 of 612) set for prime weekend dates. The busiest day of the season arrives on Saturday, September 28 with an 18-game slate that sees every team across the league in action.

In November of 2017, Seattle Sounders FC and the Tacoma Rainiers announced that beginning in 2018, Sounders FC 2's previously-announced transition to Tacoma is accelerating, allowing S2 to play its home matches at Cheney Stadium while progress continues toward a new soccer-specific facility. The two clubs previously reached a historic agreement to build a 5,000-seat facility in Central Tacoma on the footprint of Cheney Stadium. While that process moves forward, South Sound soccer fans are now able to see their USL side play in Tacoma several seasons ahead of schedule.

2019 SEATTLE SOUNDERS FC 2 SCHEDULE

DAY DATE OPPONENT VENUE

Saturday March 9, 2018 vs. Rio Grande Valley FC Cheney Stadium

Saturday March 16, 2018 vs. LA Galaxy II Cheney Stadium

Saturday March 23, 2018 at Tulsa Roughnecks FC ONEOK Field

Friday March 29, 2018 vs. New Mexico United Cheney Stadium

Monday April 1, 2018 vs. Sacramento Republic FC Cheney Stadium

Wednesday April 10, 2018 at Orange County SC OC Great Park

Saturday April 13, 2018 at Las Vegas Lights FC Cashman Field

Saturday April 20, 2018 at Phoenix Rising FC Phoenix Rising Soccer Complex

Friday April 26, 2018 at San Antonio FC Toyota Field

Saturday May 4, 2018 at OKC Energy FC Taft Stadium

Sunday May 12, 2018 vs. Portland Timbers 2 Cheney Stadium

Saturday May 18, 2018 vs. Reno 1868 FC Cheney Stadium

Sunday May 26, 2018 vs. Fresno FC Cheney Stadium

Wednesday May 29, 2018 at LA Galaxy II StubHub Center

Saturday June 1, 2018 vs. El Paso Locomotive FC Cheney Stadium

Saturday June 8, 2018 at Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC Weidner Field

Wednesday June 12, 2018 vs. Real Monarchs SLC Cheney Stadium

Saturday June 15, 2018 at Austin Bold FC Circuit of the Americas

Saturday July 6, 2018 at Rio Grande Valley FC H-E-B Park

Saturday July 13, 2018 at Real Monarchs SLC Zions Bank Stadium

Wednesday July 24, 2018 vs. Las Vegas Lights FC Cheney Stadium

Saturday July 27, 2018 vs. OKC Energy FC Cheney Stadium

Saturday August 10, 2018 vs. Orange County SC Cheney Stadium

Saturday August 17, 2018 at El Paso Locomotive FC Southwest University Park

Tuesday August 27, 2018 vs. Phoenix Rising FC Cheney Stadium

Friday August 30, 2018 vs. San Antonio FC Cheney Stadium

Saturday September 7, 2018 at Sacramento Republic FC Papa Murphy's Park

Tuesday September 10, 2018 at Reno 1868 FC Greater Nevada Field

Sunday September 22, 2018 at Portland Timbers 2 Providence Park

Saturday September 28, 2018 vs. Tulsa Roughnecks FC Cheney Stadium

Saturday October 5, 2018 at Fresno FC Chukchansi Park

Saturday October 12, 2018 vs. Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC Cheney Stadium

Wednesday October 16, 2018 at New Mexico United Isotopes Park

Saturday October 19, 2018 vs. Austin Bold FC Cheney Stadium


• Discuss this story on the United Soccer League Championship message board...

United Soccer League Championship Stories from December 19, 2018


The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.