NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Machacek Named Wolves 2010-11 Dan Snyder Man of the Year

April 6, 2011 - American Hockey League (AHL) - Chicago Wolves News Release

Chicago Wolves right wing SPENCER MACHACEK has been named the team's Dan Snyder Man of the Year in recognition of his outstanding commitment to the Chicagoland community during the 2010-11 season.

The award is given to a Wolves player each season in memory of Snyder, who passed away on Oct. 5 2003, after suffering major head injuries in a car accident. Snyder spent two seasons with the Wolves from 2001 to 2003, and helped the team capture the 2002 Calder Cup Championship.

Wolves Chairman of the Board Don Levin, Vice Chairman Buddy Meyers and General Manager Wendell Young will present MACHACEK with the award before the team faces the Rockford IceHogs in their regular-season finale at the Allstate Arena on Sun., April 10, at 3 p.m.

"Spencer brings the same energy and enthusiasm to community endeavors that he exhibits on the ice every game," said Senior Vice President of Operations Courtney Mahoney. "His energy is infectious and reminiscent of Dan Snyder's. He is always a pleasure to work with and is very deserving of this award."

In his three years with the Wolves, MACHACEK has participated in multiple community endeavors, from hospital visits, to library visits, to speaking at Faith and Fellowship night, and has done so with enthusiasm. This year, he made several visits to local libraries as part of the Wolves "Read to Succeed" program, which has reached more than 500,000 children in 16 seasons. He also volunteered to visit with patients at local hospitals, and served as the player emcee for the live auction at the team's annual "Get Fed By The Wolves" event, which raised more than $16,000 for Chicago Wolves Charities.

The 22-year-old forward often went above and beyond to assist the team's community initiatives, offering to paint his helmet pink for Breast Cancer Awareness night, in addition to using a pink stink. He also served as a speaker at this year's Faith and Fellowship night, and stayed to answer questions about his faith and sign autographs for fans well after the event concluded.

MACHACEK was also one of 30 finalists from around the league for the AHL's 2010-11 Yanick Dupre Memorial Award, which honors the overall American Specialty/AHL Man of the Year and is given annually to one player who exemplifies a commitment to service in their community.

Previous winners of the Dan Snyder Man of the Year Award include former players BRETT STERLING (2009-10), JORDAN LAVALLEE-SMOTHERMAN (2008-09), NATHAN OYSTRICK (2007-08), BRIAN SIPOTZ (2006-07), KARL STEWART (2005-06 and 2004-05) and KURTIS FOSTER (2003-04).

• Discuss this story on the American Hockey League message board...

American Hockey League Stories from April 6, 2011

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Chicago Wolves Stories

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew