NFL, MLB, CFL stats

Quarterfinals Schedule Announced for 2021 Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League

April 16, 2021 - Major League Soccer (MLS) - Atlanta United FC News Release

ATLANTA -Atlanta United will host the first leg of its Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League (SCCL) Quarterfinal matchup against the Philadelphia Union on Tuesday, April 27, Concacaf announced today. The first leg will be played at Mercedes-Benz Stadium and kick-off at 8 p.m. ET. Atlanta will travel to Philadelphia for the return leg a week later at Subaru Park on Tuesday, May 4, with kickoff set for 8 p.m. ET.

The Round of 16 culminated last night in Monterrey, Mexico, with CF Monterrey (MEX) joining Atlanta United FC (USA), Club America (MEX), Columbus Crew SC (USA), Cruz Azul (MEX), Philadelphia Union (USA), Portland Timbers (USA) and Toronto FC (CAN) in the second round of the region's premier competition for clubs.

The 2021 SCCL Quarterfinals will be played as follows (home club listed first and in eastern time):

Tuesday, April 27, 2021

20:00 Atlanta United FC (USA) vs Philadelphia Union (USA)

22:00 Toronto FC (CAN) vs Cruz Azul (MEX)

Wednesday, April 28, 2021

20:30 Columbus Crew SC (USA) vs CF Monterrey (MEX)

22:30 Portland Timbers (USA) vs Club America (MEX)

Tuesday, May 4, 2021

20:00 Philadelphia Union (USA) vs Atlanta United FC (USA)

22:15 Cruz Azul (MEX) vs Toronto FC (CAN)

Wednesday, May 5, 2021

20:00 CF Monterrey (MEX) vs Columbus Crew SC (USA)

22:15 Club America (MEX) vs Portland Timbers (USA)

Semifinals: August 10-12 (first leg) and September 14-16 (second leg)

Final: October 26-28 (single leg)

For the quarterfinals, the Round of 16 winners of matchups 1, 3, 5 and 7 will play the first leg away and the second leg at home (bracket positions available below).

For the semifinals, the two best performing clubs in the earlier rounds of the competition will play the first leg away and the second leg at home. The single leg final will be hosted by the best performing club of the two finalists in the earlier rounds of the 2021 SCCL (based on wins, draws, and, if required, goal difference).

The winner of this elite club competition will be crowned regional club champion and will represent the confederation at the 2021 FIFA Club World Cup. The current champion is Tigres UANL after they won the 2020 SCCL and subsequently performed impressively at the 2020 FIFA Club World Cup in Qatar, where they became the first team from the Concacaf region to reach a Club World Cup final.

Matches will be widely available for fans across the region to follow and enjoy through the Confederation's TV partner networks, including FOX Sports (USA-English), TUDN (USA-Spanish), Fox Sports Mexico (Mexico-Spanish), ESPN (Central America-Spanish), OneSoccer (Canada-English), Flow Sports (Caribbean-English) and other local partners.

Matches will also be available on the Concacaf Official App (subject to territory restrictions). The free mobile app is available in the Apple and Google Play stores.

• Discuss this story on the Major League Soccer message board...

Major League Soccer Stories from April 16, 2021

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

OurSports Central