NFL, MLB, CFL stats

Dan Fritsche Named To PlanetUSA All-Stars

December 30, 2009 - American Hockey League (AHL) - Syracuse Crunch News Release

Syracuse, NY (December 30, 2009) - The Syracuse Crunch announced today that the American Hockey League has selected center Dan Fritsche for the PlanetUSA AHL All-Star Team for the 2010 Time Warner Cable AHL All-Star Classic, to be played next month at the Cumberland County Civic Center in Portland, Maine.

Fritsche, 24, has appeared in 31 games for the Crunch this season and leads the team in scoring with 19 points (8g, 11a). He scored a season-high three points (1g, 2a), in a 4-3 shootout win over Albany on November 11 and has recorded five (5) multiple-point games this year, the most of any Crunch player.

Fritsche is currently in his second stint with the Crunch, having played in 23 games in parts of two seasons with Syracuse in 2003-04 and 2005-06 as a member of the Columbus Blue Jackets organization. He made a splash in his first game back at the War Memorial at Oncenter this season, recording two points (1g, 1a) in the Crunch's home-opening 6-1 win over Adirondack on October 10.

In addition, Fritsche has skated in a combined 256 NHL games with Columbus, the NY Rangers and Minnesota, compiling 34 goals, 42 assists and 103 penalty minutes. A native of Parma, Ohio, Fritsche was selected by Columbus in the second round, 46th overall, in the 2003 NHL Entry Draft.

In 16 seasons, Syracuse has had 26 players selected to participate in the AHL All-Star Classic. Previous selections include Lonny Bohonos and Scott Walker (1994-95), Brian Loney (1995-96), Larry Courville and John Namestnikov (1996-97), Mark Wotton and Robert Dome (1997-98), Boris Protsenko and Valentin Morozov (1998-99), Harold Druken and Chris O'Sullivan (1999-00), Mike Gaul (2000-01), Derrick Walser and Duvie Westcott (2001-02), Karl Goehring (2002-03), Aaron Johnson (2003-04), Alexander Svitov (2004-05), Andy Delmore and Mark Hartigan (2005-06), Filip Novak (2006-07), Derick Brassard, Joakim Lindstrom and Clay Wilson (2007-08), Nikita Filatov and Derek MacKenzie (2008-09) and Dan Fritsche (2009-10).

The 2010 Time Warner Cable AHL All-Star Classic will feature the top talent in the American Hockey League competing in the 2010 AHL All-Star Skills Competition on Monday, January 18 (8:00 p.m. ET) and the 2010 AHL All-Star Game on Tuesday, January 19 (6:00 p.m. ET), and will be televised live nationally in the United States and Canada.

The Crunch's next game in on Wednesday, December 30 as they travel to San Antonio to take on the Rampage. The club's next home game is Saturday, January 2 when they battle Albany at 7:30 p.m. at the War Memorial at Oncenter. Season and single-game tickets are now on sale and can be purchased by calling the Crunch office at (315) 473- 4444 or by stopping by the Crunch office in the War Memorial at Oncenter, located at 800 South State Street in downtown Syracuse.

• Discuss this story on the American Hockey League message board...

American Hockey League Stories from December 30, 2009

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Syracuse Crunch Stories

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central