Sports stats

 Lethbridge Hurricanes

Chadwick Named Central Division Scholastic Player of the Year

April 4, 2024 - Western Hockey League (WHL)
Lethbridge Hurricanes News Release

LETHBRIDGE, AB - The Western Hockey League announce Thursday that Lethbridge Hurricanes 2005-born defenceman Noah Chadwick has been named the 2023-2024 Central Division Scholastic Player of the Year.

Chadwick, 18, was originally drafted by the Hurricanes in the second-round (38th overall) in the 2020 WHL Prospects Draft. The Saskatoon, SK, product excelled in the classroom during the season, graduating Grade 12 a year early and beginning post-secondary studies at Athabasca University and Lethbridge College. At his high-school graduation, he recognized with the Governor General Award, presented to the student with the highest grades in his graduating class.

At Lethbridge College, Chadwick earned a 98-percent average in English 1150 - Academic Writing this fall. He also worked through introduction to Statistics at Athabasca University, securing a 93-percent average and collecting a 91- perent grade in Psychology as a Natural Science.

The Toronto Maple Leafs signed prosect also excelled on the ice during the 2023-2024 season collecting a career-high 56 points (12g-44a) along with 24 penalty minutes and a plus-13 rating. Chadwick finished atop the Hurricanes in defenceman scoring while finishing fourth in the Eastern Conference among rearguards. He became the first 'Canes blueliner to reach the 50-point plateau since the 2019-2020 season. In his career, Chadwick has skated in 146 career regular-season games posting 79 points (19g-60a) along with 44 penalty minutes and a plus-19 rating.

Being named the Central Division Scholastic Player of the Year, Chadwick is also a finalist for the WHL 's Daryl K. Doc Seaman Memorial Trophy for the league 's Scholastic Player of the Year. Three prior Hurricanes have won the Doc Seaman Award: Casey McMillan (1986-1987), David Trofimenkoff (1992-1993) and Bryce Salvador (1995-1996).

The other finalists for the Scholastic Player of the Year are Andrew Thomson (BC/Kamloops Blazers), Berkly Catton (US/Spokane Chiefs) and Kolten Bridgeman (East/Regina Pats). The WHL will announce the league award winners from Tuesday, April 30 through Thursday, May 9.

Season Tickets for the 2024-2025 campaign, including the new Premium Seat Package, are available for purchase by calling 403-328-1986.

Catch up on all the latest on the Lethbridge Hurricanes by visiting the team's website at, and/or follow on Twitter @WHLHurricanes.

• Discuss this story on the Western Hockey League message board...

Western Hockey League Stories from April 4, 2024

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Lethbridge Hurricanes Stories

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central