NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Five Bucs Named to 2018 USHL Top Prospects Game Roster

December 6, 2018 - United States Hockey League (USHL) - Des Moines Buccaneers News Release

CHICAGO - Five Buccaneers were named to the 2018 USHL Top Prospects Game, as rosters were announced by the USHL this morning.

Kaden Bohlsen, Matt Brown, Brady Meyer, Tyler Paquette and Kirby Proctor will all represent Team West down in Lincoln, NE on January 8th. With five representatives, Des Moines has the second most players featured of any team in the USHL.

"It's a great opportunity for our young players to have this kind of exposure for the NHL Draft as we continue to build our organization on the foundation of player development," GM Tom Mannino said.

All players represented are eligible for the 2019 NHL Draft. Brown currently leads the USHL in goals scored with 17 and is 4th in overall points with 28. Bohlsen, Meyer, Paquette and Proctor were all included on the NHL Central Scouting's "Players to Watch" list released back in November.

"It's a tremendous opportunity for our guys," Head Coach Gene Reilly said. "We're thrilled to have them represent Des Moines and themselves at this game on a big stage."

Since its inception in 2012, the USHL Top Prospects Game has seen ten Buccaneers take part, including 2015 Pittsburgh Penguins' 7th Round Pick Nikita Pavlychev and 2017 San Jose Sharks' 2nd Round Pick Mario Ferraro.

Throughout the history of the USHL/NHL Top Prospects Game, 90 players who participated in the game have later been selected in the NHL Draft, including four first round selections: Shane Bowers (Ottawa Senators, 2017), Kyle Connor (Winnipeg Jets, 2015), Brock Boeser (Vancouver Canucks, 2015) and Jordan Schmaltz (St. Louis Blues, 2012).

• Discuss this story on the United States Hockey League message board...

United States Hockey League Stories from December 6, 2018

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.