NFL, MLB, CFL stats


South Carolina's Tenute Named CCM Vector Rookie of the Year

April 11, 2005 - ECHL (ECHL) News Release

PRINCETON, N.J. – The ECHL on Monday announced that South Carolina center Joe Tenute is the recipient of the CCM Vector Rookie of the Year award for 2004-05.

The award is presented annually to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition in the ECHL as voted by the coaches of the ECHL teams.

Long Beach center Marco Rosa finished second in the voting while Idaho goaltender Frank Doyle was third and Atlantic City center Derek Edwardson was fourth.

Tenute, who was voted to the ECHL Rookie Team and Second Team All-ECHL, led ECHL rookies with 75 points while his 34 goals tied Rosa for the rookie lead and his 41 assists tied him for first with Edwardson. Tenute led league rookies with 25 power-play points and ranked third with 16 power-play assists while he ranked fifth among all players in goals and scoring.

Selected in the eighth round (261st overall) by New Jersey in the 2003 NHL Entry Draft, Tenute, who scored a goal for the American Conference in the 2005 ECHL All-Star Game, scored a point in an ECHL season-high 14 consecutive games (8g-16a) and he tied the ECHL season highs for assists (5) and points (6) in a 7-3 win against Texas on March 8. Tenute, who celebrated his 23rd birthday on April 2, has 18 multiple-point games, including seven two-goal games and seven games with multiple assists.

ECHL Rookie of the Year Winners
2004-05 Joe Tenute, South Carolina Stingrays
2003-04 Kevin Doell, Gwinnett Gladiators
2002-03 Jason Jaffray, Roanoke Express
2001-02 Frederic Cloutier, Louisiana IceGators
2000-01 Scott Stirling, Trenton Titans
1999-00 Jan Lasak, Hampton Roads Admirals
1998-99 Maxime Gingras, Richmond Renegades
1997-98 Sean Venedam, Toledo Storm
1996-97 Dany Bousquet, Birmingham Bulls
1995-96 Keli Corpse, Wheeling Thunderbirds
1994-95 Kevin McKinnon, Erie Panthers
1993-94 Dan Gravelle, Greensboro Monarchs
1992-93 Joe Flanagan, Birmingham Bulls
1991-92 Darren Colbourne, Dayton Bombers
1990-91 Dan Gauthier, Knoxville Cherokees
1989-90 Bill McDougall, Erie Panthers
1988-89 Tom Sasso, Johnstown Chiefs

• Discuss this story on the ECHL message board...

ECHL Stories from April 11, 2005

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central