NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Odessa's Joel Martin Named Most Outstanding Goaltender

March 19, 2010 - Central Hockey League (CHL) News Release

(Tempe, AZ) - The Central Hockey League (CHL) announced today that Joel Martin of the Odessa Jackalopes has been named the recipient of the 2009-10 Central Hockey League's Most Outstanding Goaltender award (Scott Brower Award). The award is ‘presented annually to the Central Hockey League's most outstanding goaltender, in memory of Scott Brower, former Memphis goaltender and Corpus Christi employee.' Voting was done by CHL head coaches, communications departments and selected media members in each market.

In what turned out to be the closest race of any of the CHL awards, Martin earned 18 votes of the 52 ballots returned followed closely by CHL Rookie of the Year Danny Battochio (Rapid City) who had 15 votes.

Martin has had a season to remember ranking third in the league in wins (26), second in goals against average (2.51) and tied for fourth in save percentage (.918). Martin has earned two shutouts and leads the league with nine shootout victories. Overall, he has a 26-6-2 record and was named the starting goaltender for the 2010 CHL All-Star Team in the South Texas versus the CHL game in January in Laredo. Martin set a CHL record in the game stopping 27 shots in a single period earning the Co-Most Valuable Player Award.

The Fort Worth, Texas native joins Mike Gorman (2002) as the only two Jackalopes to win the yearly goaltending award. Martin was decorated throughout the season winning back-to-back Oakley CHL Goaltender of the Week Awards (Dec. 21 and Dec. 28) and winning the Sher-Wood/TPS CHL Goaltender of the Month for December.

The final award of the CHL awards' season will be given out on Monday, March 22 when the CHL Most Valuable Player is announced.

2010 CHL Awards that have already been announced are: CHL Athletic Trainer of the Year - Stuart Nichols, Tulsa Oilers CHL Gunner Garrett Equipment Manager of the Year - Tony Deynzer, Colorado Eagles CHL Man of the Year - Justin Quenneville, Corpus Christi Ice Rays CHL All-Rookie Team - F: Sean Muncy (RGV), Nick Sirota (MIZ), Ryan Garbutt (CRP), D: Jake Obermeyer (AMA), Sean Erickson (TUL), G: Danny Battochio (RPD) All-CHL Team - F: Riley Nelson (COL), Kevin Ulanski (COL), Les Reaney (RPD), D: Aaron Schneekloth (COL), Derek Eastman (TUL), G: Joel Martin (ODE) CHL Rookie of the Year - Danny Battochio, Rapid City Rush CHL Coach of the Year - Joe Ferras, Rapid City Rush Most Oustanding Defenseman - Aaron Schneekloth

• Discuss this story on the Central Hockey League message board...

Central Hockey League Stories from March 19, 2010

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew