NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Colorado's Aaron Schneekloth Named CHL's Most Outstanding Defenseman

March 19, 2010 - Central Hockey League (CHL) News Release

(Tempe, AZ) - The Central Hockey League (CHL) announced today that Aaron Schneekloth of the Colorado Eagles has been named the recipient of the 2009-10 Central Hockey League's Most Outstanding Defenseman award.

This is the second straight season that Schneekloth has earned the award as he joins Hardy Sauter as the only player to receive the recognition twice (1997, 1998). The honor is 'presented annually to the Central Hockey League defenseman who has demonstrated the greatest all-round ability in the position' and is determined through balloting of CHL head coaches, communications departments and selected media members in each market.

The Calgary native earned the highest percentage of votes of any of the CHL awards this season appearing on 37 of 52 ballots. Tulsa's Derek Eastman finished second in the voting.

Schneekloth has topped his career season from a year ago with 64 points (25-39=64) leading all defensemen in points (64), goals (25), assists (39), plus/minus (+39), shots (206) and game winning goals (6). The fourth-year Eagle defenseman was named a member of the All-CHL team in each of the last three seasons and finished runner-up for the top defenseman award in 2008. Last season, Schneekloth finished with 52 points (17-35=52) and a +38 plus/minus rating during his award winning season.

The former college star at North Dakota has played in 64 career American Hockey League games seeing action with Grand Rapids and Houston and has scored 307 points (94-213=307) in his 351 career CHL games seeing action with Colorado, Austin and New Mexico.

The CHL Most Outstanding Goaltender (Scott Brower Award) will be given put later today (Friday, March 19) and the CHL Most Valuable Player recipient will be announced on Monday, March 22.

2010 CHL Awards that have already been announced are:

CHL Athletic Trainer of the Year - Stuart Nichols, Tulsa Oilers

CHL Gunner Garrett Equipment Manager of the Year - Tony Deynzer, Colorado Eagles

CHL Man of the Year - Justin Quenneville, Corpus Christi Ice Rays

CHL All-Rookie Team - F: Sean Muncy (RGV), Nick Sirota (MIZ), Ryan Garbutt (CRP), D: Jake Obermeyer (AMA), Sean Erickson (TUL), G: Danny Battochio (RPD)

All-CHL Team - F: Riley Nelson (COL), Kevin Ulanski (COL), Les Reaney (RPD), D: Aaron Schneekloth (COL), Derek Eastman (TUL), G: Joel Martin (ODE)

CHL Rookie of the Year - Danny Battochio, Rapid City Rush

CHL Coach of the Year - Joe Ferras, Rapid City Rush

• Discuss this story on the Central Hockey League message board...

Central Hockey League Stories from March 19, 2010

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew