Vancouver Whitecaps FC

Ryan Gauld Named Captain of Vancouver Whitecaps FC

February 23, 2024 - Major League Soccer (MLS)
Vancouver Whitecaps FC News Release

VANCOUVER, BC - Leading the way.

Ryan Gauld was officially named captain of Vancouver Whitecaps FC on Friday in a presentation at the club's 2024 Season Launch Party at the Vancouver Convention Centre. As part of the presentation, Gauld was joined on stage by former captains Sam Lenarduzzi (1974-75), John Catliff (1988-93), and Steve Macdonald (1996-98).

Gauld becomes the 25th player to be named club captain since 1974. For the complete list of both men's and women's club captains, as well as additional club history, visit

"To wear the captain's armband is a huge honour, especially for a club with such a great history," said Gauld. "I'm going to continue to give everything I have for this club, and I know that everyone else will be doing the same. It's a great group of boys on this team and we're excited to push forward to help make everyone in the city proud."

Since joining Vancouver mid-way through the 2021 season, Gauld has helped the 'Caps win consecutive Canadian Championships and reach the MLS Cup Playoffs twice. The Scotsman also sits as the club's leader in assists during the MLS era with 34, won the club's Player of the Year award in back-to-back seasons, and was the recipient of the George Gross Memorial Trophy for being the most valuable player of the 2022 Canadian Championship.

Gauld is joined on the 'Caps leadership group by centre back Ranko Veselinović, forward Brian White, defensive midfielder Andrés Cubas, midfielder Sebastian Berhalter and forward Damir Kreilach.

"We have a fantastic group of players on this team, and we have a group of emerging leaders who will play a big role in keeping our squad heading in the right direction," said Vanni Sartini, Whitecaps FC head coach. "Together, we are looking forward to more big moments ahead to share with our supporters."

Whitecaps FC MLS season opener, presented by TELUS, is just over two weeks away on Saturday, March 2 when they host Eastern Conference side Charlotte FC at BC Place. Kickoff will be at 4:30 p.m. PT, the upper bowl will be open, and more than 25,000 tickets have already been sold. For ticket information, visit

Fifty Together

Celebrate the club's 50th anniversary, presented by BMO, Chevrolet, and MNP, all season long. Learn more about the club's storied history at

Vancouver Whitecaps FC / Vancouver 86ers

All-Time Captains

1974 - Billy Stevenson / Sam Lenarduzzi

1975 - Sam Lenarduzzi

1976 - Bruce Wilson

1977 - Bruce Wilson

1978 - Jon Sammels

1979 - John Craven

1980 - Alan Ball / John Craven

1981 - Terry Yorath

1982 - Terry Yorath

1983 - Peter Lorimer

1984 - Bob Lenarduzzi

1987 - Shaun Lowther

1988 - John Catliff

1989 - John Catliff

1990 - John Catliff

1991 - John Catliff

1992 - John Catliff

1993 - John Catliff

1994 - Rick Celebrini

1995 - Rick Celebrini

1996 - Steve Macdonald

1997 - Steve Macdonald

1998 - Steve Macdonald

1999 - Paul Dailly

2000 - Paul Dailly

2001 - Kevin Holness

2002 - Paul Dailly

2003 - Paul Dailly

2004 - Alfredo Valente

2005 - Jeff Clarke

2006 - Jeff Clarke

2007 - Jeff Clarke

2008 - Adrian Cann / Jeff Clarke

2009 - Martin Nash

2010 - Martin Nash

2011 - Jay DeMerit

2012 - Jay DeMerit

2013 - Jay DeMerit

2014 - Jay DeMerit / Pedro Morales

2015 - Pedro Morales

2016 - Pedro Morales

2017 - Kendall Waston

2018 - Kendall Waston

2019 - Jon Erice

2020 - Russell Teibert

2021 - Russell Teibert

2022 - Russell Teibert

2023 - Russell Teibert

2024 - Ryan Gauld

- -

• Discuss this story on the Major League Soccer message board...

Major League Soccer Stories from February 23, 2024

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

OurSports Central