Looking for stats?

Cincinnati's Desharnais Wins ECHL Scoring Title

April 7, 2008 - ECHL (ECHL) News Release

PRINCETON, N.J. - David Desharnais of the Cincinnati Cyclones has won the ECHL scoring championship with 106 points in 68 games.

The 106 points is the most scored by a rookie since 1996-97 when Dany Bousquet of Pee Dee had 107 points (54g-53a). Desharnais is only the fourth rookie in 20 years to lead the ECHL in scoring joining Alex Leavitt of Alaska (91 points in 2005-06), Daryl Harpe of Erie (122 points in 1988-89) and Bill McDougall of Erie (148 points in 1989-90). The 21 year old is 10th on the list of 16 rookies who have scored 100 points.

He also led the league with 77 assists and 39 power-play assists and led ECHL rookies and ranked second overall in plus-minus rating with +38. Desharnais was named Rookie of the Year on Sunday after being named to the ECHL All-Rookie Team on Thursday and First Team All-ECHL on Friday.

Jeff Campbell of Gwinnett was second with 91 points followed by South Carolina rookie Travis Morin 84 points and Ash Goldie of Victoria and Elmira rookie Benoit Doucet, who tied for fourth with 83 points.

Desharnais was named Vector CCM Rookie of the Month in November, February and March. He set the ECHL record with an assist in 20 consecutive games from Jan. 5-Feb. 29 and he had the fourth-longest scoring streak in league history with 27 games from Dec. 31, 2007-Mar. 12, 2008. He has already broken the team record of 75 points by Gorski in 1997-98 and Matt Noga in 2002-03 and the club mark of 51 assists by Noga in 2002-03. He was selected to the ECHL All-Star Game after scoring 27 points (6g-21a) in 22 games. He is under AHL contract to Hamilton and has one assist and six penalty minutes in four games with the Bulldogs.

The ECHL will announce the Coach of the Year on Tuesday.

ECHL Leading Scorer Award Winners
2007-08 David Desharnais, Cincinnati Cyclones 106 points
2006-07 Brad Schell, Gwinnett Gladiators 110 points
2005-06 Alex Leavitt, Alaska Aces 91 points
2004-05 Scott Gomez, Alaska Aces 86 points
2003-04 Tim Smith, Columbia Inferno 95 points
2002-03 Buddy Smith, Arkansas RiverBlades 104 points
2001-02 Louis Dumont, Pensacola Ice Pilots 102 points
2000-01 Scott King, Charlotte Checkers 101 points
1999-00 John Spoltore, Louisiana IceGators 119 points
1998-99 John Spoltore, Louisiana IceGators 109 points
1997-98 Jamey Hicks, Birmingham Bulls 119 points
1996-97 Ed Courtenay, South Carolina Stingrays 110 points
Mike Ross, South Carolina Stingrays 110 points
1995-96 Hugo Belanger, Nashville Knights 144 points
1994-95 Scott Burfoot, Erie Panthers 97 points
1993-94 Phil Berger, Greensboro Monarchs 139 points
1992-93 Trevor Jobe, Nashville Knights 161 points
1991-92 Phil Berger, Greensboro Monarchs 130 points
1990-91 Stan Drulia, Knoxville Cherokees 140 points
1989-90 Bill McDougall, Erie Panthers 148 points
1988-89 Daryl Harpe, Erie Panthers 122 points

• Discuss this story on the ECHL message board...

ECHL Stories from April 7, 2008

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.