NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Chicago Fire to compete in SuperLiga 2009

November 24, 2008 - Major League Soccer (MLS) - Chicago Fire News Release

BRIDGEVIEW, ILL. (November 24, 2008) - The Chicago Fire has qualified as one of four Major League Soccer teams to compete in SuperLiga 2009. The Fire will be joined by the 2008 SuperLiga Champion New England Revolution as well as the Kansas City Wizards, and Chivas USA. Dates, venues, and participating Mexican teams for SuperLiga 2009 will be announced at a later date.

In 2009, eight MLS teams will compete in either the 2009/2010 CONCACAF Champions League or SuperLiga, but not both. MLS Cup Champion Columbus Crew, MLS Cup Runner-up New York Red Bulls, U.S. Open Cup Champion D.C. United, and the Western Conference regular season points leader Houston Dynamo will participate in the 2009/2010 CONCACAF Champions League. The top four teams, based on regular season record, not competing in the CONCACAF Champions League were then selected for SuperLiga 2009. The Fire will be competing in SuperLiga for the first time in team history.

• Discuss this story on the Major League Soccer message board...

Major League Soccer Stories from November 24, 2008

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.