NFL, MLB, CFL stats

Bombers' Season Ending Roster Announced

June 16, 2008 - ECHL (ECHL) - Dayton Bombers News Release

Dayton, OH - The Dayton Bombers, members of the ECHL, announced today their 2007-08 season-ending roster, consisting of 13 forwards and 7 defensemen.

Included on the roster are forwards Justin Aikins, Matt Beaudoin, Mike Berry, Brad Bonello, Bobby Chaumont, Britt Dougherty, Chanse Fitzpatrick, Peter Flache, Grant Goeckner-Zoeller, Scott Kelman, Ryan MacGregor, Ryan Smyth and Yannick Tifu; and defensemen Mike Campaner, Chris Eade, Alex Greig, Kriss Grundmanis, Jim Henkemeyer, Greg Labenski and Ryan Reid.

Per the ECHL, season-ending rosters may include up to 20 players. Season-ending rosters cannot include any players who did not sign an ECHL contract in 2007-08 (i.e. players who were under contract to teams in either the National Hockey League or the American Hockey League).

Each team is entitled to reserve rights to a maximum of eight players from the list of 20 by extending a qualifying offer no later than July 1. Of the eight qualified players, no more than four can be veterans (260 regular season professional hockey games played as of the start of the 2008-09 season). Players on open qualifying offers cannot be traded. Teams are not required to extend a qualifying offer to players who sign a contract prior to July 1.

The qualifying offer must remain open for acceptance until August 1 at which time the qualifying offer becomes null and void and the team may sign the qualified player to any salary or may elect to take no further action. Teams that extend a valid qualifying offer to a non-veteran player shall retain the rights to that qualified player for one playing season.

A team that extends a valid qualifying offer to a veteran player will retain the rights to that veteran until August 1. After August 1, if the veteran player is not signed to a contract by the team, the veteran shall be deemed a restricted free agent and shall be entitled to seek and secure offers of employment from other ECHL teams. Restricted free agents may not be traded. When a restricted free agent receives a contract offer from a team other than the team with the player's rights and the restricted free agent wishes to accept the contract offer, the restricted free agent and the offering member must, within 24 hours, notify the ECHL, the team with the player's rights and the Professional Hockey Players' Association. The member with the player's rights shall have seven days after the date it is notified to exercise its right to match the contract offer.

If a restricted free agent is not signed to either an offer sheet or a contract by an ECHL team by August 31, the player shall be deemed an unrestricted free agent.

The rights to forward Josh Sciba and defenseman Corey LeClair were traded to the Pensacola Ice Pilots and Ontario Reign (formerly Texas Wildcatters), respectively, as past of future consideration trades made during the 2007-08 hockey season.

• Discuss this story on the ECHL message board...

ECHL Stories from June 16, 2008

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Dayton Bombers Stories

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central