Cincinnati\\"s Starling Is Rbk Hockey Plus Performer

April 7, 2008 - ECHL (ECHL)

News Release

PRINCETON, N.J. - The ECHL announced on Monday that Cincinnati Cyclones defenseman Chad Starling is the recipient of the Rbk Hockey Plus Performer of the Year award after finishing at +48 in 63 games.

It is the highest plus-minus rating since 1995-96 when Kim Maier of Knoxville led the league with +48 and it ties the fifth-best plus-minus rating in the 20-year history of the league by Maier and Brian Martin of Hampton Roads in 1992-93. The ECHL record for plus-minus rating is +59 by Victor Gervais of Hampton Roads in 1992-93.

Starling, who was named Second Team All-ECHL on Friday, was even or better in 55 of his 63 games including the last 30 in a row. In the last two seasons with the Cyclones he is +72 and has 41 points (6g-35a) in 133 games.

The ECHL will announce the Coach of the Year on Tuesday.

ECHL Plus-Minus Rating Leaders
2007-08 Chad Starling, Cincinnati Cyclones +48
2006-07 Matt Shasby, Alaska Aces +43
2005-06 Peter Metcalf, Alaska Aces +44
2004-05 Aaron Phillips, Pensacola Ice Pilots +36
2003-04 Tim Smith, Columbia Inferno +40
2002-03 Dennis Vial, Columbia Inferno +37
Mike Glumac, Pee Dee Pride +37
2001-02 Konstantin Kalmikov, Louisiana IceGators +43
2000-01 Jay Murphy, Louisiana IceGators +32
1999-00 Andy MacIntyre, Florida Everblades +46
1998-99 Jan Vodrazka, Pee Dee Pride +44
1997-98 Stan Melanson, Louisiana IceGators +36
1996-97 Dominic Maltais, Hampton Roads Admirals +44
1995-96 Kim Maier, Knoxville Checkers +48
1994-95 Jamie Steer, Dayton Bombers +43
1993-94 Sebastien Laplante, Greensboro Monarchs +42
1992-93 Victor Gervais, Hampton Roads Admirals +59
1991-92 Brad McCaughey, Toledo +51

• Discuss this story on the ECHL message board