NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Toledo's Napoli Named ECHL Executive of the Year

July 1, 2015 - ECHL (ECHL) News Release

PRINCETON, N.J. - The ECHL on Wednesday announced that Toledo Walleye President & CEO Joe Napoli has been selected by the ECHL Board of Governors as the 2014-15 recipient of the ECHL Executive of the Year award.

Napoli, who also won the award in 2012-13, joins Steve Chapman and Matthew Riley, as the only two-time winners of the Executive of the Year award since it was introduced in 1993.

Toledo set a new club record in attendance during the 2014-15 season drawing 231,847 fans during the regular season and adding 64,899 during the Kelly Cup Playoffs, including a team record 8,300 fans for Game 7 of the Eastern Conference Finals against South Carolina. Winterfest, a 10-day outdoor hockey festival held at Fifth Third Field, created an economic impact of over $10 million for Toledo and the surrounding area. Napoli also hired Derek Lalonde as the Walleye head coach, who helped to spearhead an ECHL-record 58-point improvement over the 2013-14 season on his way to earning ECHL Coach of the Year honors.

In addition to serving as president and CEO of the Walleye, Napoli also is president and CEO of the Toledo Mud Hens professional baseball team. Before coming to Toledo, he worked for the Chicago Bulls of the National Basketball Association, the Detroit Tigers of Major League Baseball, the Canton-Akron Indians and Manufacturers Hanover Trust Company. A member of the development team for the Huntington Center, Napoli is responsible for the management and day-to-day operation of both the Walleye and Mud Hens. Born and raised in Brooklyn, N.Y., Napoli graduated Cum Laude from St. John's University with a bachelor's degree in management.

ECHL Executive Of The Year Winners


2015 Joe Napoli Toledo Walleye

2014 Matthew Riley Bakersfield Condors

2013 Joe Napoli

Toledo Walleye

2012 Justin Kemp

Ontario Reign

2011 Dan Chapman Stockton Thunder

2010 Kristin Ropp Cincinnati Cyclones

2009 Gordon Kaye Reading Royals

2008 Darren Abbott South Carolina Stingrays

2007 Matthew Riley Bakersfield Condors

2006 Steve Chapman Gwinnett Gladiators

2005 Steve Chapman Gwinnett Gladiators

2004 Terry Parks Alaska Aces

2003 John Butler Peoria Rivermen

2002 Matt Loughran Atlantic City Boardwalk Bullies

2001 Craig Brush Florida Everblades

2000 Brian McKenna Trenton Titans

1999 Carl Scheer Greenville Grrrowl

1998 Charles Felix Pensacola IcePilots

1997 David Paitson Columbus Chill

1996 Dave Berryman Louisiana IceGators

1995 Harry Feuerstein/Craig Laughlin Richmond Renegades

1994 John Gagnon/Pierre Paiement Roanoke Express

1993 Larry Kish Wheeling Thunderbirds

• Discuss this story on the ECHL message board...

ECHL Stories from July 1, 2015

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew