Looking for stats?

In Case You Missed It: Weekly Baseball and Basketball Franchise Report

by Dan Krieger
September 1, 2016 - California League (CalL)


California League: The high Class-A California League will contract from ten to eight teams as it shuts down the Bakersfield Blaze and High Desert Mavericks (Adelanto) franchises after the 2016 season. Two new high Class-A teams will be added to the Carolina League for the 2017 season. One of the new Carolina League teams is expected to be based in Kinston (NC), which had a previous team in the league from 1978 through the 2011 season. The other market under consideration for a new Carolina League team is Fayetteville (NC), which is trying to build a new minor-league ballpark that would not be ready until the 2019 season. The Bakersfield Blaze had trouble building a new stadium in the city, while the city of Adelanto tried to remove the High Desert Mavericks from the local stadium prior to this season.

Eastern League: The head of the Double-A Eastern League stated that there will not be a Hartford Yard Goats team next season, if its stadium is not completed. Construction delays forced the team to play the entire 2016 season on the road and construction on the stadium was recently stopped in a dispute over who will complete the work.

Texas League: A group in Lubbock (TX) that is trying to build a new ballpark based on the potential relocation of the San Antonio Missions in the Double-A Texas League has failed to place a referendum on the November ballot for voters to approve a ballpark funding plan. The San Antonio Missions would only be available to move if they are successful in building a new stadium for a Triple-A team in the Pacific Coast League. The city of Wichita (KS), which lost its Texas League team after the 2007 season, has been mentioned as another possible relocation site for the Missions, but a new or renovated stadium would be needed there. The Texas League's Wichita Wranglers moved to Springdale (AR) to become the Northwest Arkansas Naturals for the 2008 season.

Southwest League: The proposed new professional SWL formally introduced plans for a new ballpark in the Bellmead area of Waco (TX) that could be ready by 2018. Waco is the first of six mid-sized Texas markets the league is targeting for membership and new ballparks. The league plans to announce its next city in about three weeks and reveal other locations every two to three weeks thereafter. The new Bellmead franchise has already announced a name-the-team contest.

Frontier League: The group trying to bring a Frontier League team to a proposed new stadium in Jackson (MI) is asking Jackson County officials for a two-month extension to obtain additional funding from the sale of naming rights to the stadium. A current agreement with the county expires at the end of this month.


National Basketball Association Development League (D-League): The NBA D-League announced its 2016-17 schedule and league alignment that will feature 22 teams with the addition of 3 new teams owned and operated by NBA teams. The Chicago Bulls will operate the new Windy City Bulls in suburban Hoffman Estates, the Charlotte Hornets will operate the new Greensboro (NC) Swarm and the Brooklyn Nets will operate the new Long Island Nets, also based in Brooklyn. The D-League's Bakersfield Jam was sold to the NBA's Phoenix Suns and moved to Prescott Valley (AZ) to become the Northern Arizona Suns, while the NBA's Utah Jazz moved its Idaho Stampede D-League team from Boise to become the Salt Lake City Stars for the 2016-17 season. In the 2016-17 league alignment, the Eastern Conference will feature a six-team Atlantic Division and a five-team Central Division, while the Western Conference will have a six-team Southwest Division and a five-team Pacific Division. Racine County (WI) is trying to build a new arena that it hopes will become home to the D-League team of the NBA's Milwaukee Bucks.

North American Basketball League: The NABL, which recently completed its inaugural 2016 season with a four-team NABL East and a six-team NABL West, announced four teams that will be part of a 2017 Midwest Conference. The four teams announced are the Chicago Legends, Detroit Coast-II-Coast All Stars, Vehicle City Royals (Flint, MI) and the Indiana Revolution, formerly the Portland Revolution.

East Coast Basketball League: The ECBL announced a team called the Florence (SC) Wildcats will be part of the league's Southern Division in 2017. A previous Florence-based team called the Pee Dee Pride recently played two seasons (2014-15) in the Premier Basketball League.

• Discuss this story on the California League message board...

California League Stories from September 1, 2016

The opinions expressed in this article are those of the writer(s), and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.