NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Former Fire QB Announced AFL Co-Rookie of the Year

July 5, 2007 - arenafootball2 (af2) - Louisville Fire News Release

Former Louisville Fire quarterback Brett Dietz was named the Arena Football League's Co-Rookie of the Year today by the by AFL head coaches, fans, players and the Arena Football League Writers Association (AFLWA), the League announced today. Dietz, quarterback of the Tampa Bay Storm, shares the award with Kansas City Brigade wide receiver Charles Frederick.

Dietz, who won both Offensive Player of the Week (Week 14) and Rookie of the Month (May, June) honors, completed 199-of-302 passes for 2,395 yards and 47 touchdowns, setting the AFL single-season record for completion percentage by a rookie with at least 300 attempts (65.9) and achieved the second-highest passer rating for a rookie (119.3) in the process.

Dietz, who earned All-Rookie honors last week, guided the Storm to an 8-1 record once he became a regular under center. The Storm began the season 1-6 and due much to the play of Dietz, finished the season at 9-7 earning the third seed in the National Conference playoff standings. He became the first player in AFL history to be named Rookie of the Year in the AFL after winning the same honor in af2 (2006).

Former Fire offensive lineman Will Rabatin was also a candidate for Rookie of the Year.

Come see who the Fire will send to the AFL next this Saturday, July 7, 2007 at 7:00pm in Freedom Hall. For tickets call 368-0009.

The Arena Football League contributed to this release.

• Discuss this story on the arenafootball2 message board...

arenafootball2 Stories from July 5, 2007

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Louisville Fire Stories

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew