NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Falcons Announce Protected List

June 3, 2008 - ECHL (ECHL) - Fresno Falcons News Release

FRESNO, CALIF. - The Fresno Falcons, in conjunction with the ECHL, announced today the team's protected list for the 2008-09 season.

The Falcons' protected list is as follows:

Goaltenders (2) - Kris Mayotte and Jake Moreland

Defensemen (9) - P.O. Beaulieu, Riley Day, Tyler Kindle, L.P. Lachance, Kenny MacAulay, Daryl Marcoux, Matt O'Dette, Brian O'Hanley, and Joe Van Culin

Forwards (15) - Kenny Bernard, Dave Borrelli, Spencer Carbery, Luke Curtin, Oren Eizenman, Igor Gongalsky, Jarrett Konkle, Brady Leisenring, Stuart MacRae, John Morlang, Josh Prudden, Matt Quinn, Mike Ramsay, Luke Stauffacher, and Matt Stefanishion

Teams are allowed to protect as many players as they wish provided the players protected meet the guidelines as defined in the Collective Bargaining Agreement between the ECHL and the Professional Hockey Players' Association which state that teams shall retain the rights to each player that:

1. Signed a Standard Players Contract in 2007-08, and has not been traded or released, OR

2. Signed Standard Players Contract in 2007-08, and was recalled to the National Hockey League, the American Hockey League or an International Ice Hockey Federation team, and has not been traded or released, OR

3. Received a 2007-08 Qualifying Offer for the current season, and DID NOT sign a Standard Players Contract, and has not been traded or released, OR

4. Has been suspended by the team or League, and has not been traded or released, OR

5. Signed Standard Players Contract on or after the first day of the 2007-08 regular season, then subsequently signed an NHL/AHL contract, and has not been traded or released, OR

6. Has executed the ECHL Retirement Form, and has not been traded or released

Teams must complete all Future Consideration trades by 3 p.m. ET on June 13 and must submit their Season-Ending Roster by 3 p.m. ET on June 15.

Season-ending rosters may include up to 20 players and cannot include any players who did not sign an ECHL contract in 2007-08.

The Falcons return downtown to Selland Arena for the 2008-09 season. The home opener is Friday, October 24 against the Bakersfield Condors at 7:30 p.m. Season Ticket packages start at just $432, and are now available by calling the Falcons at (559) 485-7825.

Began in 1988-89 with five teams playing in four states, the Premier ‘AA' Hockey League has grown into a coast-to-coast league that will have 24 teams in 16 states and British Columbia playing 864 games from Oct. 17, 2008 to Apr. 4, 2009. Nineteen of the 24 teams have played at least five years in their current city.

The third-longest tenured professional hockey league behind only the National Hockey League and the American Hockey League, the ECHL averaged 4,174 per game last season, marking the fourth year in row and the 16th time in the last 18 years that the league has averaged over 4,000 fans. The league has drawn over four million fans each of the last five years and 11 times in the past 12 seasons.

• Discuss this story on the ECHL message board...

ECHL Stories from June 3, 2008

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Fresno Falcons Stories

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew