NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Salmon Kings List Protected Players

June 3, 2008 - ECHL (ECHL) - Victoria Salmon Kings News Release

Victoria, BC - The Victoria Salmon Kings, proud affiliate of the Vancouver Canucks and Manitoba Moose, have released their 2008 list of protected players.

The Salmon Kings have protected 20 players. Teams are allowed to protect as many players as they wish provided the players protected meet the guidelines as defined in the Collective Bargaining Agreement between the ECHL and the Professional Hockey Players' Association which state that teams shall retain the rights to each player that:

1. Signed a Standard Players Contract in 2007-08, and has not been traded or released, OR

2. Signed Standard Players Contract in 2007-08, and was recalled to the National Hockey League, the American Hockey League or an International Ice Hockey Federation team, and has not been traded or released, OR

3. Received a 2007-08 Qualifying Offer for the current season, and DID NOT sign a Standard Players Contract, and has not been traded or released, OR

4. Has been suspended by the team or League, and has not been traded or released, OR

5. Signed Standard Players Contract on or after the first day of the 2007-08 regular season, then subsequently signed an NHL/AHL contract, and has not been traded or released, OR

6. Has executed the ECHL Retirement Form, and has not been traded or released

Protected lists may exceed 20 players.

Teams must complete all Future Consideration trades by 3 p.m. ET on June 13 and must submit their Season-Ending Roster by 3 p.m. ET on June 15.

Season-ending rosters may include up to 20 players and cannot include any players who did not sign an ECHL contract in 2007-08.

2008 Salmon Kings Protected List

Paul Ballantyne (D)

Darren Deschamps (D)

Jacob Dietrich (C)

Kevin Estrada (C/LW)

Milan Gajic (RW)

Gary Gladue (D)

Ash Goldie (C/RW)

Wes Goldie (RW)

Derek Krestanovich (C)

Jordan Krestanovich (LW)

Brady Leavold (RW)

Darryl Lloyd (LW)

Kiel McLeod (C)

Chris St. Jacques (C)

Billy Thompson (G)

Ryan Wade (C/RW)

Brad Zanon (D)

Martin Thibeault (C)

Mike Stutzel (D)

Ty Morris (LW)

The Salmon Kings start the season on the road in Phoenix on October 17th, and return to Victoria for the home opener on Friday, October 24th when the Stockton Thunder come to town.

Season tickets for the Salmon Kings 2008-09 season are on sale. Catch all the action by calling 250-220-7889, emailing or by visiting for more information.

Began in 1988-89 with five teams playing in four states, the Premier ‘AA' Hockey League has grown into a coast-to-coast league that will have 24 teams in 16 states and British Columbia playing 864 games from Oct. 17, 2008 to Apr. 4, 2009. Nineteen of the 24 teams have played at least five years in their current city.

The third-longest tenured professional hockey league behind only the National Hockey League and the American Hockey League, the ECHL averaged 4,174 per game last season, marking the fourth year in row and the 16th time in the last 18 years that the league has averaged over 4,000 fans. The league has drawn over four million fans each of the last five years and 11 times in the past 12 seasons

• Discuss this story on the ECHL message board...

ECHL Stories from June 3, 2008

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Victoria Salmon Kings Stories

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew