Looking for stats?

Colorado's Costello Named CCM ECHL Most Valuable Player

April 6, 2012 - ECHL (ECHL) News Release

PRINCETON, N.J. - The ECHL on Friday announced that Chad Costello of the Colorado Eagles has been selected as the CCM ECHL Most Valuable Player for 2011-12.

The CCM Most Valuable Player award is presented annually to the player selected to be the most valuable to his team as determined in a vote of ECHL coaches, broadcasters, media relations directors and media members.

Dustin Gazley of Elmira finished second, followed by Las Vegas' Joe Fallon and Eric Lampe, and Justin Bowers of Greenville.

Costello, who was named First-Team All-ECHL last week, was fourth in the ECHL with 76 points (29g-47a) despite playing just 47 games. He was tied for fourth in the league in plus-minus at +21 and tied for sixth with 47 assists. He also appeared in 11 American Hockey League games this season with Springfield and Worcester tallying four assists.

A native of Johnston, Iowa, Costello was the ECHL's Plus Performer of the Month for December after leading the league with a plus-minus rating of +19, and he was the league's Player of the Week for the week ending Dec. 11 after posting five points (3g-2a) and a +7 rating in three games.

CCM U+ ECHL Most Valuable Player Award Winners


2012 Chad Costello Colorado Eagles

2011 Wes Goldie Alaska Aces

2010 Tyler Donati Elmira Jackals

2009 Kevin Baker Florida Everblades

2008 David Desharnais Cincinnati Cyclones

2007 Brad Schell Gwinnett Gladiators

2006 Jeff Campbell Gwinnett Gladiators

2005 Scott Gomez Alaska Aces

2004 Scott Stirling Atlantic City Boardwalk Bullies

2003 Buddy Smith Arkansas RiverBlades

2002 Frederic Cloutier Louisiana IceGators

2001 Scott King Charlotte Checkers

2000 Andrew Williamson Toledo Storm

1999 Chris Valicevic Louisiana IceGators

1998 Jamey Hicks Birmingham Bulls

1997 Mike Ross South Carolina Stingrays

1996 Hugo P. Belanger Nashville Knights

1995 Vadim Slivchenko Wheeling Thunderbirds

1994 Joe Flanagan Birmingham Bulls

1993 Trevor Jobe Nashville Knights

1992 Phil Berger Greensboro Monarchs

1991 Stan Drulia Knoxville Cherokees

1990 Bill McDougall Erie Panthers

1989 Daryl Harpe Erie Panthers

• Discuss this story on the ECHL message board...

ECHL Stories from April 6, 2012

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.