NFL, MLB, CFL stats


Chad Costello Named 2015-16 ECHL Most Valuable Player

April 15, 2016 - ECHL (ECHL) News Release

PRINCETON, N.J. - The ECHL on Friday announced that Chad Costello of the Allen Americans has been selected as the CCM Hockey ECHL Most Valuable Player for 2015-16.

The CCM Hockey Most Valuable Player award is presented annually to the player selected to be the most valuable to his team as determined in a vote of ECHL coaches, broadcasters, media relations directors and media members.

Costello also received the Most Valuable Player award in 2011-12 while playing for Colorado and he becomes the first player in the ECHL's 28-year history to capture multiple MVP awards.

Josh Robinson of Missouri finished second, followed by Missouri's Jesse Root, Trent Daavettila of Colorado and Fort Wayne's Shawn Szydlowski.

Costello, who was named to the All-ECHL First Team last week, led the league in scoring for the second consecutive season with 103 (24g-79a) in 72 games. He is one of just eight players in league history to record multiple 100-point seasons and one of just four to do so in consecutive seasons. Costello also led the league in 2015-16 with 79 assists, 33 power-play assists and 40 power-play points.

The 29-year-old ended the regular season with a 19-game assist streak, which is the second-longest streak in league history and just one game off the league-record 20-game streak set by Cincinnati's David Desharnais in 2007-08.

CCM Hockey ECHL Most Valuable Player Award Winners

2015-16 Chad Costello, Allen Americans

2014-15 Jeff Jakaitis, South Carolina Stingrays

2013-14 Mickey Lang, Orlando Solar Bears

2012-13 Ryan Zapolski, South Carolina Stingrays

2011-12 Chad Costello, Colorado Eagles

2010-11 Wes Goldie, Alaska Aces

2009-10 Tyler Donati, Elmira Jackals

2008-09 Kevin Baker, Florida Everblades

2007-08 David Desharnais, Cincinnati Cyclones

2006-07 Brad Schell, Gwinnett Gladiators

2005-06 Jeff Campbell, Gwinnett Gladiators

2004-05 Scott Gomez, Alaska Aces

2003-04 Scott Stirling, Atlantic City Boardwalk Bullies

2002-03 Buddy Smith, Arkansas RiverBlades

2001-02 Frederic Cloutier, Louisiana IceGators

2000-01 Scott King, Charlotte Checkers

1999-00 Andrew Williamson, Toledo Storm

1998-99 Chris Valicevic, Louisiana IceGators

1997-98 Jamey Hicks, Birmingham Bulls

1996-97 Mike Ross, South Carolina Stingrays

1995-96 Hugo Belanger, Nashville Knights

1994-95 Vadim Slivchenko, Wheeling Thunderbirds

1993-94 Joe Flanagan, Birmingham Bulls

1992-93 Trevor Jobe, Nashville Knights

1991-92 Phil Berger, Greensboro Monarchs

1990-91 Stan Drulia, Knoxville Cherokees

1989-90 Bill McDougall, Erie Panthers

1988-89 Daryl Harpe, Erie Panthers

• Discuss this story on the ECHL message board...

ECHL Stories from April 15, 2016

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central