NFL, MLB, CFL stats

AHL Board of Governors Approves Plan for Schedule Unification

June 7, 2021 - American Hockey League (AHL) - San Diego Gulls News Release

SAN DIEGO - American Hockey League President and CEO Scott Howson announced that the league's Board of Governors has approved a schedule unification plan that will see all teams play a 72-game regular-season schedule beginning in 2022-23.

As part of the plan, for the 2021-22 season, teams in the Atlantic, North and Central Divisions have the option of playing either 76 or 72 games, while teams in the Pacific Division will play 68 games. Additionally, there will be an increase in the number of teams qualifying for the Calder Cup Playoffs each year; details will be finalized and announced later in the offseason.

"I am very pleased that we were able to achieve a schedule of 72 games for all teams in the American Hockey League," said Howson. "In coming together to create a plan that is fair and equitable, our owners have demonstrated a commitment to the long-term strength of the league."

The following division alignment has been approved for the 2021-22 AHL season (National Hockey League affiliations in parentheses):

Eastern Conference

Atlantic Division North Division

Bridgeport Islanders (New York Islanders) Belleville Senators (Ottawa Senators)

Charlotte Checkers (Florida Panthers) Cleveland Monsters (Columbus Blue Jackets)

Hartford Wolf Pack (New York Rangers) Laval Rocket (Montreal Canadiens)

Hershey Bears (Washington Capitals) Rochester Americans (Buffalo Sabres)

Lehigh Valley Phantoms (Philadelphia Flyers) Syracuse Crunch (Tampa Bay Lightning)

Providence Bruins (Boston Bruins) Toronto Marlies (Toronto Maple Leafs)

Springfield Thunderbirds (St. Louis Blues) Utica Comets (New Jersey Devils)

Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins (Pittsburgh Penguins)

Western Conference

Central Division Pacific Division

Chicago Wolves (Carolina Hurricanes) Abbotsford (Vancouver Canucks)

Grand Rapids Griffins (Detroit Red Wings) Bakersfield Condors (Edmonton Oilers)

Iowa Wild (Minnesota Wild) Colorado Eagles (Colorado Avalanche)

Manitoba Moose (Winnipeg Jets) Henderson Silver Knights (Vegas Golden Knights)

Milwaukee Admirals (Nashville Predators) Ontario Reign (Los Angeles Kings)

Rockford IceHogs (Chicago Blackhawks) San Diego Gulls (Anaheim Ducks)

Texas Stars (Dallas Stars) San Jose Barracuda (San Jose Sharks)

Stockton Heat (Calgary Flames)

Tucson Roadrunners (Arizona Coyotes)

Teams playing 76 games in 2021-22: Chicago, Cleveland, Grand Rapids, Hershey, Lehigh Valley, Milwaukee, Rochester, Springfield, Syracuse, W-B/Scranton

Teams playing 72 games in 2021-22: Belleville, Bridgeport, Charlotte, Hartford, Iowa, Laval, Manitoba, Providence, Rockford, Texas, Toronto, Utica

Teams playing 68 games in 2021-22: Abbotsford, Bakersfield, Colorado, Henderson, Ontario, San Diego, San Jose, Stockton, Tucson

The playing schedule and postseason format for the 2021-22 season, which begins Oct. 15, will be announced this summer.

• Discuss this story on the American Hockey League message board...

American Hockey League Stories from June 7, 2021

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent San Diego Gulls Stories

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central