NFL, MLB, CFL stats

2022 Calder Cup Playoffs Format Set

August 5, 2021 - American Hockey League (AHL) - Bakersfield Condors News Release

CONDORSTOWN, Calif. - The American Hockey League announced today the format for the 2022 Calder Cup Playoffs with seven of the 9 teams in the Pacific Division competing in the postseason. The Condors have won the Pacific Division title in two of the past three seasons.

In the Pacific Division, the top regular season team will receive a Round One bye with the playoff format listed below.

ROUND ONE (top seed receives bye)

Best-of-3 format

#2 Seed v #7 Seed

#3 Seed v #6 Seed

#4 Seed v #5 Seed


Best-of-5 format

#1 Seed v Lowest remaining seed

Second highest seed v Third highest seed


Best-of-5 format

Semi-final winner 1 v Semi-final winner 2


Best-of-7 format

Pacific Division Winner v Central Division Winner

Atlantic Division Winner v North Division Winner


Best-of-7 Format

Western Conference Finals Winner v Eastern Conference Finals winner

The Condors open the 2021-22 season on Saturday, Oct. 16 against the Abbotsford Canucks on Dignity Health Mercy and Memorial Hospitals Home Ice at Mechanics Bank Arena.

• Discuss this story on the American Hockey League message board...

American Hockey League Stories from August 5, 2021

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Bakersfield Condors Stories

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central