NFL, NBA, NHL stats

2006-2007 All-CHL, All-Rookie Teams Announced

March 21, 2007 - Central Hockey League (CHL) News Release

The six member All-CHL and All-Rookie teams for the 2006-2007 Central Hockey League season have been determined, selected through balloting of all 17 Head Coaches. The Youngstown SteelHounds' forward tandem of Jeff Christian and Chris Richards, who rank first and second in the CHL scoring race with 109 and 105 points respectively, are joined by Brent Kelly of the Arizona Sundogs (CHL leader with 40 goals) as 2006-2007 All-CHL forwards. All three are finalists for the 2006-2007 CHL Most Valuable Player award to be announced on March 26th.

Rearguards Derek Landmesser of the Memphis RiverKings and Brad Williamson of the Colorado Eagles are the 2006-2007 All-CHL Defensemen, with the pair of Most Outstanding Defenseman finalists both enjoying outstanding seasons at both ends of the ice for their playoff-bound clubs. In net, Bossier-Shreveport' rookie John DeCaro earns selection as the 2006-2007 All-CHL Goaltender, leading the circuit with both a 2.27 goals against average and a .929 save percentage while posting a record of 22-7-4 for the Northeast Division champion Mudbugs.

DeCaro also appears on the 2006-2007 All-Rookie squad, and is joined by defensemen Alex Dunn of the Odessa Jackalopes and Colorado's Craig Strain, both proving to be highly capable defenders in their first full season of professional play. 2006-2007 All-Rookie forwards include Bossier-Shreveport's Cam Abbott (leading all rookies with 30 goals), New Mexico's Ryan McLeod (rookie leader with both 39 assists and 62 points) and Laredo's Bobby Chaumont, who has recorded 26 goals and 33 assists in his first pro season.

2006-2007 All-CHL Team

F: Jeff Christian, Youngstown SteelHounds

F: Brent Kelly, Arizona Sundogs

F: Chris Richards, Youngstown SteelHounds

D: Derek Landmesser, Memphis RiverKings

D: Brad Williamson, Colorado Eagles

G: John DeCaro, Bossier-Shreveport Mudbugs

2006-2007 All-Rookie Team

F: Cam Abbott, Bossier-Shreveport Mudbugs

F: Bobby Chaumont, Laredo Bucks

F: Ryan McLeod, New Mexico Scorpions

D: Alex Dunn, Odessa Jackalopes

D: Craig Strain, Colorado Eagles

G: John DeCaro, Bossier-Shreveport Mudbugs

Additional upcoming CHL award recipients to be announced include the CHL Man of the Year, Rick Kozuback Award and Rookie of the Year honorees (Thursday) as well as the Most Outstanding Defenseman and Most Outstanding Goaltender winners on Friday. The CHL Most Valuable Player recipient will be announced Monday, March 26th, along with the winner of the Joe Burton Scoring Champion award. Already announced earlier this week were the recipients of the CHL Athletic Trainer of the Year (Youngstown's Mike Ermatinger), CHL Equipment Manager of the Year (Oklahoma City's Brandon Rose)and CHL Coach of the Year (Memphis' Kevin McClelland) awards.

• Discuss this story on the Central Hockey League message board...

Central Hockey League Stories from March 21, 2007

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew