NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Washington Spirit Announces Protected/Unprotected List Ahead of Expansion Draft

October 26, 2015 - National Women's Soccer League (NWSL) - Washington Spirit News Release

BOYDS, MD (Oct. 26, 2015) - The Washington Spirit today announced the official list of protected and unprotected players ahead of the 2015 Expansion Draft on Monday, Nov. 2.

The Orlando Pride will become the tenth club to join the NWSL when they begin play in 2016. Orlando will be able to select up to ten (10) players in the Expansion Draft, though no club can lose more than two players. The results of the Expansion Draft will be announced via social media starting at 12 p.m. (ET).

Each current NWSL club has had the opportunity to protect nine (playoff teams) or ten (non-playoff teams) players from their 2015 roster. Each team may protect up to two (2) U.S. allocated players. Any additional U.S. allocated players on a team's roster must be left unprotected. The Pride will be allowed to select no more than two (2) U.S. allocated players.

A complete list of the Expansion Draft Procedures can be found on

Washington Spirit Protected and Unprotected list:


Estefania Banini

Crystal Dunn (USA)

Tori Huster

Estelle Johnson

Diana Matheson (CAN)

Christine Nairn

Francisca Ordega

Megan Oyster

Katherine Reynolds


Josephine Chukwunonye

Whitney Church

Amanda Da Costa

Laura del Rio

Caprice Dydasco

Natasha Harding

Ashlyn Harris (USA)

Ali Krieger (USA)

Joanna Lohman

Ngozi Okobi

Veronica Perez (MEX)

Hayley Raso

Arianna Romero (MEX)

Angela Salem

Tiffany Weimer

Kelsey Wys

• Discuss this story on the National Women's Soccer League message board...

National Women's Soccer League Stories from October 26, 2015

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.