Sports stats

 Western Hockey League

Warriors Forward Firkus Wins Bob Clarke Trophy as 2023-24 WHL Top Scorer Presented by Kubota Canada

May 8, 2024 - Western Hockey League (WHL) News Release

Calgary, Alta. - Moose Jaw Warriors forward Jagger Firkus has won the Bob Clarke Trophy as the WHL Top Scorer presented by Kubota Canada.

The Warriors alternate captain's impressive 126-point campaign led all CHL skaters in 2023-24.

"It's an honour to receive this award," Firkus said. "I want to thank my teammates, my coaching staff, the organization for all the help throughout the years. I thank my family as well."

Firkus netted a career-high 61 goals (ranking second in the WHL) and 65 assists in 63 games.

The Irma, Alta. product also tied for second in the league with 10 game-winning goals.

Firkus registered more games where he scored a hat trick (six) than games where he was held off the scoresheet (four).

The Seattle Kraken prospect also went on an astounding run that saw him tally 19 goals and 32 assists for 51 points in 26 straight games, marking the WHL's longest point streak this season.

"On behalf of Kubota, We would like to congratulate Jagger Firkus of the Moose Jaw Warriors on being named the 2023-24 WHL Top Scorer," Kubota Brand Manager Catherine O'Brien said. "Congrats on an amazing season, Jagger!"

Firkus is the third Warriors player to capture the Bob Clarke Trophy, joining Jayden Halbgewachs, who tallied 129 points in 2017-18, and Troy Brouwer, who piled up 102 points in 2005-06.

The skilled centreman has 144 goals and 166 assists for 310 points in 230 regular-season WHL games and another 33 points (16G, 1A) in 20 playoff matches with one season of junior eligibility remaining.

The Seattle Kraken picked Firkus 35th overall in the second round of the 2022 NHL Entry Draft and signed a three-year, entry-level contract with the NHL club in April 2023.

The Bob Clarke Trophy, named for the WHL and NHL legend, is awarded annually to the WHL's Top Scorer.

The Hockey Hall-of-Famer played two seasons in the WHL, capturing the league scoring title in both campaigns before graduating to a career with the Philadelphia Flyers that spanned more than 1,000 games, two Stanley Cup championships and three Hart Trophy wins for Most Valuable Player, among other awards.

The 1967-68 WHL season saw Clarke collect an astounding 168 points (51G-117A) in 59 appearances.

During the 1968-69 season, Clarke registered 137 points (51G-86A) in only 58 games as he helped his hometown Flin Flon Bombers claim the 1969 WHL Championship.

Winners of the Bob Clarke Trophy (since 2003)

2023-24 Jagger Firkus, Moose Jaw Warriors*

2022-23 Connor Bedard, Regina Pats

2021-22 Arshdeep Bains, Red Deer Rebels

2020-21 Peyton Krebs, Winnipeg ICE

2019-20 Adam Beckman, Spokane Chiefs

2018-19 Joachim Blichfeld, Portland Winterhawks

2017-18 Jayden Halbgewachs, Moose Jaw Warriors*

2016-17 Sam Steel, Regina Pats*

2015-16 Adam Brooks, Regina Pats

2014-15 Oliver Bjorkstrand, Portland Winterhawks

2013-14 Mitch Holmberg, Spokane Chiefs

2012-13 Brendan Leipsic, Portland Winterhawks

Nicolas Petan, Portland Winterhawks (tie)

2011-12 Brendan Shinnimin, Tri-City Americans

2010-11 Linden Vey, Medicine Hat Tigers*

2009-10 Brandon Kozun, Calgary Hitmen*

2008-09 Casey Pierro-Zabotel, Vancouver Giants

2007-08 Mark Santorelli, Chilliwack Bruins

2006-07 Zach Hamill, Everett Silvertips

2005-06 Troy Brouwer, Moose Jaw Warriors

2004-05 Eric Fehr, Brandon Wheat Kings

2003-04 Tyler Redenbach, Swift Current Broncos

2002-03 Erik Christensen, Kamloops Blazers

* Also won CHL Top Scorer Award

• Discuss this story on the Western Hockey League message board...

Western Hockey League Stories from May 8, 2024

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central