Sports stats


Toledo's Hawkins Named 2023-24 Warrior Hockey/ECHL Most Valuable Player

April 19, 2024 - ECHL (ECHL) News Release

SHREWSBURY, N.J. - The ECHL on Friday announced that Brandon Hawkins of the Toledo Walleye has been selected as the Warrior Hockey ECHL Most Valuable Player for 2023-24.

The Warrior Hockey Most Valuable Player award is presented annually to the player selected to be the most valuable to his team as determined in a vote of ECHL coaches, broadcasters, media relations directors and media members.

Patrick Curry of Kansas City finished second, followed by Wheeling's Taylor Gauthier, Erik Bradford of Kalamazoo and Maine's Alex Kile.

Named to the All-ECHL First Team for the second consecutive season, Hawkins led the ECHL during the 2023-24 season with 40 goals, 93 points, 34 power-play points and 346 shots on goal, while he was tied for the league lead with 15 power-play goals, was tied for sixth with 54 assists and tied for 10th with six game-winning goals.

Hawkins, who represented the Walleye at the 2024 Warrior Hockey/ECHL All-Star Classic, recorded at least one point in 54 of his 70 games this season. He had a pair of 14-game point streaks during the season (Dec. 8-Jan. 10 and Feb. 4-Mar. 10), and went more than two games without picking up at least a point on only two occasions during the season.

Warrior Hockey ECHL Most Valuable Player Award Winners

2023-24 Brandon Hawkins, Toledo Walleye

2022-23 Hank Crone, Allen Americans

2021-22 Will Graber, Fort Wayne Komets

2020-21 Anthony Beauregard, Wichita Thunder

2019-20 Josh Kestner, Toledo Walleye

2018-19 Jesse Schultz, Cincinnati Cyclones

2017-18 Shawn Szydlowski, Fort Wayne Komets

2016-17 Chad Costello, Allen Americans

2015-16 Chad Costello, Allen Americans

2014-15 Jeff Jakaitis, South Carolina Stingrays

2013-14 Mickey Lang, Orlando Solar Bears

2012-13 Ryan Zapolski, South Carolina Stingrays

2011-12 Chad Costello, Colorado Eagles

2010-11 Wes Goldie, Alaska Aces

2009-10 Tyler Donati, Elmira Jackals

2008-09 Kevin Baker, Florida Everblades

2007-08 David Desharnais, Cincinnati Cyclones

2006-07 Brad Schell, Gwinnett Gladiators

2005-06 Jeff Campbell, Gwinnett Gladiators

2004-05 Scott Gomez, Alaska Aces

2003-04 Scott Stirling, Atlantic City Boardwalk Bullies

2002-03 Buddy Smith, Arkansas RiverBlades

2001-02 Frederic Cloutier, Louisiana IceGators

2000-01 Scott King, Charlotte Checkers

1999-00 Andrew Williamson, Toledo Storm

1998-99 Chris Valicevic, Louisiana IceGators

1997-98 Jamey Hicks, Birmingham Bulls

1996-97 Mike Ross, South Carolina Stingrays

1995-96 Hugo Belanger, Nashville Knights

1994-95 Vadim Slivchenko, Wheeling Thunderbirds

1993-94 Joe Flanagan, Birmingham Bulls

1992-93 Trevor Jobe, Nashville Knights

1991-92 Phil Berger, Greensboro Monarchs

1990-91 Stan Drulia, Knoxville Cherokees

1989-90 Bill McDougall, Erie Panthers

1988-89 Daryl Harpe, Erie Panthers

• Discuss this story on the ECHL message board...

ECHL Stories from April 19, 2024

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central