NFL, MLB, CFL stats



Thorns FC Announce Schedule for 2021 NWSL Season

April 27, 2021 - National Women's Soccer League (NWSL) - Portland Thorns FC News Release


PORTLAND, Ore. - The National Women's Soccer League (NWSL) today unveiled the full 24-game, 2021 regular-season schedule for Portland Thorns FC. Portland will begin regular-season play against the Chicago Red Stars at Providence Park on Sunday, May 16; kickoff is set for 4 p.m. (Pacific).

Thorns FC will play 12 home and 12 road matches during the 2021 season with the full broadcast details to be released at a later date. Portland will square off against Cascadia rival OL Reign three times, playing twice at Providence Park on May 23 and Oct. 2, while traveling for a road match on Aug. 29. Thorns FC will play host to expansion side Racing Louisville FC in the first meeting between the two teams on June 5. Portland will make its first visit to Lynn Stadium for an away match against Louisville on July 3.

In addition to a pair of home contests against OL Reign, Portland will also play two home matches against KC NWSL and NJ/NY Gotham FC, while traveling for two road matches each against the Houston Dash, North Carolina Courage and Orlando Pride. Thorns FC square off against the Courage at Providence Park in the team's regular-season finale on Oct. 30.

Six teams will qualify for an expanded NWSL playoffs set to begin on Nov. 6, 2021, with the top two seeds receiving a first-round bye. The league's ninth season will conclude with the NWSL Championship on Nov. 20, 2021.

Schedule Breakdown:

Home Dates by Day of the Week:

Wednesday (2), Saturday (4), Sunday (6)

Road Dates by Day of the Week:

Wednesday (1), Saturday (6), Sunday (5)

Home Dates by Month:

May (2), June (2), July (2), August (2), September (1), October (3)

Road Dates by Month:

May (2), June (1), July (2), August (3), September (2), October (2)

League Opponents Played Twice at Home:

KC NWSL, NJ/NY Gotham FC, OL Reign

League Opponents Played Twice Away:

Houston Dash, North Carolina Courage, Orlando Pride

League Opponents Played Once at Home:

Chicago Red Stars, Houston Dash, North Carolina Courage, Orlando Pride, Racing Louisville FC, Washington Spirit

League Opponents Played Once Away:

Chicago Red Stars, KC NWSL, NJ/NY Gotham FC, OL Reign, Racing Louisville FC, Washington Spirit

2021 Portland Thorns FC Schedule (home matches in bold, CAPS)

All matches are Pacific time and subject to change

Date Opponent Kickoff (Pacific)

Sun., May 16 CHICAGO RED STARS 4 p.m.

Sun., May 23 OL REIGN 7 p.m.

Wed., May 26 @Orlando Pride 4 p.m.

Sun., May 30 @NJ/NY Gotham FC 12 noon

Sat., June 5 RACING LOUISVILLE FC 7:30 p.m.

Sun., June 20 KC NWSL 12 noon

Sat., June 26 @North Carolina Courage 4 p.m.

Sat., July 3 @Racing Louisville FC 4:30 p.m.

Sun., July 11 NY/NY GOTHAM FC 12 noon

Sun., July 18 ORLANDO PRIDE 7:30 p.m.

Sat., July 24 @Houston Dash 5:30 p.m.

Sun., Aug. 1 KC NWSL 12 noon

Sat., Aug. 7 @Washington Spirit 4 p.m.

Sat., Aug. 14 @Orlando Pride 4 p.m.

Wed., Aug. 25 NJ/NY GOTHAM FC 7:30 p.m.

Sun., Aug. 29 @OL Reign 4 p.m.

Sat., Sept. 4 WASHINGTON SPIRIT 7:30 p.m.

Sun., Sept. 12 @North Carolina Courage 3 p.m.

Sat., Sept. 25 @Chicago Red Stars 5 p.m.

Sat., Oct. 2 OL REIGN 7 p.m.

Wed., Oct. 6 HOUSTON DASH 7 p.m.

Sun., Oct. 10 @KC NWSL 4 p.m.

Sun., Oct. 17 @Houston Dash 4 p.m.

Sat., Oct. 30 NORTH CAROLINA COURAGE 7 p.m.

• Discuss this story on the National Women's Soccer League message board...

National Women's Soccer League Stories from April 27, 2021


The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

OurSports Central