NFL, MLB, CFL stats

Revolution Announced Protected Player List Ahead of 2019 MLS Expansion Draft

November 16, 2019 - Major League Soccer (MLS) - New England Revolution News Release

FOXBOROUGH, Mass. - The New England Revolution have protected 12 players from selection in the 2019 MLS Expansion Draft, Tuesday, Nov. 19 at 5:30 p.m. ET. With six additional players automatically protected, a total of 18 Revolution players will be unavailable for selection by the league's two expansion sides beginning play in 2020, Inter Miami CF and Nashville SC.

The 12 players New England protected are Gustavo Bou, Teal Bunbury, Brandon Bye, Luis Caicedo, Scott Caldwell, Antonio Delamea, Andrew Farrell, Carles Gil, DeJuan Jones, Cristian Penilla, Matt Turner, and Wilfried Zahibo.

Five Homegrown Players are also automatically protected: Isaac Angking, Diego Fagundez, Nicolas Firmino, Zachary Herivaux, and Justin Rennicks. Tajon Buchanan is also automatically protected as a Generation adidas player. The club's two most recent signings, Dutch defender Alexander Büttner and Homegrown Player Damian Rivera, are also ineligible for selection as their contracts take effect beginning in January 2020.

The eight players left unprotected are Juan Agudelo, Jalil Anibaba, Juan Fernando Caicedo, Edgar Castillo, Cody Cropper, Brad Knighton, Michael Mancienne, and Brian Wright. Click here for the complete list of MLS players eligible for selection in Tuesday's draft.

2019 Expansion Draft: Revolution Protected List

Protected Players (12)

Gustavo Bou (Designated Player, International)

Teal Bunbury

Brandon Bye

Luis Caicedo (International)

Scott Caldwell

Antonio Delamea

Andrew Farrell

Carles Gil (Designated Player, International)

DeJuan Jones

Cristian Penilla (International)

Matt Turner

Wilfried Zahibo (International)

Automatically Protected Players (6)

Isaac Angking (Homegrown Player)

Tajon Buchanan (Generation adidas)

Diego Fagundez (Homegrown Player)

Nicolas Firmino (Homegrown Player)

Zachary Herivaux (Homegrown Player)

Justin Rennicks (Homegrown Player)

Unprotected Players (8)

Juan Agudelo

Jalil Anibaba

Juan Fernando Caicedo (International)

Edgar Castillo

Cody Cropper

Brad Knighton

Michael Mancienne (International)

Brian Wright

Exempt Players (Contracts Begin in 2020)

Alexander Büttner (International)

Damian Rivera (Homegrown Player)

The 2019 MLS Expansion Draft consists of five rounds of two selections each, as Inter Miami CF and Nashville SC may select up to five players each from the eligible pool. Only one player per club may be selected. Each team will have three minutes to make its selections, and there are no trades permitted during the draft. Any team that has a player claimed from their unprotected roster will receive $50,000 in General Allocation Money for the selection. Complete Expansion Draft rules are available here.

Click here for more information on upcoming key dates in the MLS offseason calendar, including the MLS Re-Entry Draft Stage 1 (Nov. 26) and Stage 2 (Dec. 3). For up-to-the-minute information on the Revolution, visit the team's official website at, or join the conversation and interact with fans on any of the team's social platforms.

• Discuss this story on the Major League Soccer message board...

Major League Soccer Stories from November 16, 2019

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

OurSports Central