NFL, NBA, NHL stats



Preview: Royals at Rockets

November 19, 2019 - Western Hockey League (WHL) - Kelowna Rockets News Release

Kelowna Rockets centre Alex Swetlikoff (right) against the Victoria Royals
Kelowna Rockets centre Alex Swetlikoff (right) against the Victoria Royals
(Kelowna Rockets, Credit: Marissa Baecker/Kelowna Rockets)

The Kelowna Rockets are set to host the Victoria Royals for Hat-Trick Wednesday tomorrow night at Prospera Place.

The Rockets are looking to build off of their 4-3 victory over the Kamloops Blazers on Saturday night. Alex Swetlikoff slipped the game-winner under Dylan Garand's pad on his backhand, he says the team needs to stay the course against Victoria

"Anytime you face a B.C. Division team those are huge games for us and for the two points," said Swetlikoff. "I think we need to keep building off of last game said. We're the best when we stay out of the penalty box and are playing teams five on five. When we get our forecheck going and have a good neutral zone, I think we're successful."

Swetlikoff now has five points in his last six games, he credits firing more at the net and upping his physical play with him finding the score sheet.

"I've been a little more hungrier, I've been shooting more and going to the net. I think I've been more physical and that's gotten me into the game more and made me better prepared."

Victoria was last in action on Friday night where the weathered the storm and shut down the Lethbridge Hurricanes 3-2 on home ice.

B.C. Division Standings # Team GP W L OTL SOL PTS 1 Kamloops Blazers 21 14 7 0 0 28 2 Vancouver Giants 22 11 9 1 1 24 3 Kelowna Rockets 20 10 8 1 1 22 4 Victoria Royals 18 10 7 1 0 21 5 Prince George Cougars 21 4 15 0 2 10 2019-2020 record vs Victoria Royals: 1-1-0-1

Oct. 29, 2019: Kelowna 3 at Victoria 4 SO

Oct. 30, 2019: Kelowna 1 at Victoria 0

Nov. 6, 2019: Victoria 6 at Kelowna 3

upcoming games

Nov. 20, 2019: Victoria at Kelowna

Jan. 3, 2020: Victoria at Kelowna

Jan. 8, 2020: Victoria at Kelowna

Feb. 21, 2020: Kelowna at Victoria

Feb. 22, 2020: Kelowna at Victoria

Mar. 11, 2020: Victoria at Kelowna

The last time these two met:

It's been nearly two weeks since these two last met, but if the previous matchup indicated anything, it's sure to be another heated affair. The division rivalry is alive and well between the two teams. The Rockets clawed back from a two-goal deficit to tie the game at three in the second period, but the Royals pulled ahead with three straight goals to down Kelowna 6-3.

Players to watch:

Kelowna

* Alex Swetlikoff scored the game-winner against Kamloops on Saturday night. He has five points (4G, 1A) in his last six games.

* Rookie forward Jake Poole had back-to-back two-point games last week. He has seven points (3G, 4A) in 16 games this season.

Victoria

* Kaid Oliver had three assists against the Rockets and was named the second star of the game last time they faced off. He's tied for first in Royals scoring with 13 points (4G, 9A) in 13 games.

* Gary Haden had twp points, a goal and an assist, in the Royals victory on Friday night. The 20-year-old is tied for third in team scoring with 10 points in sixteen games.

Purchase the Hat-Trick Wednesday deal from Select Your Tickets before 2:00 pm on game day to receive a pop, a hotdog and your ticket for $19.99 plus fees. Tickets are on sale at selectyourtickets.com, at the Prospera Place box office or by phone at 250-762-5050.

________________________________

Six and twelve game mini-packs are now on sale! Order yours today by filling out this form or by contacting Gavin Hamilton at 250-979-0851 (gavin@kelownarockets.com) or Andrew Deans at 250-979-0863 (Andrew@kelownarockets.com).





Images from this story

Kelowna Rockets centre Alex Swetlikoff (right) against the Victoria Royals
Kelowna Rockets centre Alex Swetlikoff (right) against the Victoria Royals

(Marissa Baecker/Kelowna Rockets)
  

• Discuss this story on the Western Hockey League message board...

Western Hockey League Stories from November 19, 2019


The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.