NFL, MLB, CFL stats

Pacers/Mad Ants Two-Way Cassius Stanley to Take Part in NBA Slam Dunk Contest

March 2, 2021 - NBA G League (G League) - Fort Wayne Mad Ants News Release

NEW YORK - A new AT&T Slam Dunk champion will be crowned this year as first-time participants Anfernee Simons of the Portland Trail Blazers, Cassius Stanley of the Indiana Pacers and Obi Toppin of the New York Knicks compete for the title on Sunday, March 7 at State Farm Arena in Atlanta. The 36th AT&T Slam Dunk will take place at halftime of the 2021 NBA All-Star Game, airing on TNT and ESPN Radio.

AT&T Slam Dunk is part of NBA All-Star 2021, which will be held on one night. TNT's NBA All-Star coverage on March 7 will begin at 5 p.m. ET with TNT NBA Tip-Off presented by CarMax, followed by the Taco Bell Skills Challenge and MTN DEW 3-Point Contest starting at 6:30 p.m. ET. NBA All-Star Game coverage will begin at 8 p.m. ET. NBA All-Star 2021 will reach fans in 215 countries and territories in more than 50 languages.

Simons (pronounced SIGH-mons) is averaging 8.2 points and shooting a career-high 40.7 percent from three-point range in his third NBA season. The 6-3 guard was selected by Portland with the 24th pick in NBA Draft 2018 presented by State Farm.

Stanley, a 6-5 rookie guard on a two-way contract, was selected by the Pacers with the 54th pick in NBA Draft 2020 presented by State Farm. He recorded a maximum vertical leap of 44 inches in the 2020 NBA Draft Combine, tied for the third-highest mark since 2000.

Toppin, a 6-9 rookie forward, was selected by the Knicks with the eighth pick in NBA Draft 2020 presented by State Farm. As a redshirt sophomore at the University of Dayton last season, Toppin led the nation in dunks and was named the consensus National Player of the Year.

Led by Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Famer Dominique Wilkins, five past AT&T Slam Dunk champions will serve as the judges. Wilkins (1985 and 1990 champion) will be joined by Dee Brown (1991), Jason Richardson (2002 and 2003), Josh Smith (2005) and Spud Webb (1986). Wilkins, Smith and Webb won their Slam Dunk titles while representing the Atlanta Hawks. Richardson won the last Slam Dunk competition in Atlanta, in 2003.

AT&T Slam Dunk will be a two-round competition. In the first round, the three competitors will perform two dunks each. The five judges will score each dunk on a scale of 6 to 10, resulting in a maximum score of 50 and a minimum score of 30. The two players with the highest combined score for their two dunks (a maximum of 100 and a minimum of 60) will advance to the final round.

In the final round, the two competitors will perform one dunk each. The winner will be determined by "Judges' Choice" instead of individual score. The judges will choose the winner by raising a card that has the dunker's name on it. Click here for a complete explanation of the rules for AT&T Slam Dunk.

Below are the participants for the 2021 AT&T Slam Dunk and a list of previous winners.


Player Team Pos. Ht. Wt.

Anfernee Simons Portland Trail Blazers G 6-3 181

Cassius Stanley Indiana Pacers G 6-5 193

Obi Toppin New York Knicks F




1984 - Larry Nance, Phoenix

1985 - Dominique Wilkins, Atlanta

1986 - Spud Webb, Atlanta

1987 - Michael Jordan, Chicago

1988 - Michael Jordan, Chicago

1989 - Kenny Walker, New York

1990 - Dominique Wilkins, Atlanta

1991 - Dee Brown, Boston

1992 - Cedric Ceballos, Phoenix

1993 - Harold Miner, Miami

1994 - Isaiah Rider, Minnesota

1995 - Harold Miner, Miami

1996 - Brent Barry, LA Clippers

1997 - Kobe Bryant, Los Angeles Lakers

2000 - Vince Carter, Toronto

2001 - Desmond Mason, Seattle

2002 - Jason Richardson, Golden State

2003 - Jason Richardson, Golden State

2004 - Fred Jones, Indiana

2005 - Josh Smith, Atlanta

2006 - Nate Robinson, New York

2007 - Gerald Green, Boston

2008 - Dwight Howard, Orlando

2009 - Nate Robinson, New York

2010 - Nate Robinson, New York

2011 - Blake Griffin, LA Clippers

2012 - Jeremy Evans, Utah

2013 - Terrence Ross, Toronto

2014 - East (Paul George, Terrence Ross, John Wall)

2015 - Zach LaVine, Minnesota

2016 - Zach LaVine, Minnesota

2017 - Glenn Robinson III, Indiana

2018 - Donovan Mitchell, Utah

2019 - Hamidou Diallo, Oklahoma City

2020 - Derrick Jones Jr., Miami

• Discuss this story on the NBA G League message board...

NBA G League Stories from March 2, 2021

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Fort Wayne Mad Ants Stories

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central