NFL, NBA, NHL stats

CHL Founder Ray Miron to receive NHL's Lester Patrick Trophy

January 16, 2004 - Central Hockey League (CHL) News Release

The National Hockey League yesterday named Central Hockey League founder Ray Miron one of three recipients of the prestigious Lester Patrick Trophy. The Lester Patrick Trophy is an annual award presented for outstanding service to hockey in the United States, and was first presented in 1966 by the NHL’s New York Rangers to honor the late Lester Patrick, longtime general manager and coach of the Rangers. Miron founded the six-team Central Hockey League in 1992, and served as President through 1997. The CHL recognizes Miron’s contributions by annually awarding its playoff champion the Ray Miron President’s Cup trophy.

In addition to his CHL accomplishments, Miron has held numerous administrative posts spanning more than 50 years involvement in the hockey industry. He served as manager and coach of Ontario’s Cornwall Falcons in 1947 and 1948 before holding a 10-year post as manager of the Cornwall Community Arena. From 1959 through 1964 he held the general manager title of the Washington Presidents of the Eastern Hockey League, then joined the Toronto Maple Leafs organization and managed their then affiliates in Tulsa and Oklahoma City for a dozen years. In 1976 Miron joined the NHL’s Colorado Rockies as general manager, leading the club to the post-season in their second season of play.

Following a brief retirement, Miron joined the six-team Atlantic Coast Hockey League in 1983 as commissioner, holding that title through 1987. The next several years were spent working towards the rebirth of the Central Hockey League, launching in 1992 with member teams in Oklahoma City, Tulsa, Memphis, Wichita, Dallas and Fort Worth.

“We are very pleased to see the National Hockey League recognize Mr. Miron’s many contributions to our industry,” said CHL President Brad Treliving. “His significant efforts on numerous levels paved the way for the success that we enjoy today.”

Also named recipients of the Lester Patrick award this season were New Jersey Devils play-by-play man Mike Emrick, who has been part of NHL playoff broadcasts for the past 16 years, and former Rangers goaltender John Davidson, who is ABC’s lead studio analyst and has handled color commentary duties for Ranger telecasts for the past 18 years. Miron, Emrick and Davidson will all receive their awards March 16th in New York.

The Central Hockey League is in its 12th season of play, with 17 current teams (including the expansion Colorado Eagles and Rio Grande Valley Killer Bees) in eight states. The CHL continues to lead all “AA” professional hockey leagues in North American in attendance, currently with a per-game average of 4,245 through 314 games played.

• Discuss this story on the Central Hockey League message board...

Central Hockey League Stories from January 16, 2004

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew