NFL, MLB, CFL stats

Toledo's Barnes Named CCM ECHL Rookie of the Year

April 13, 2015 - ECHL (ECHL) News Release

ECHL Rookie of the Year Tyler Barnes of the Toledo Walleye
ECHL Rookie of the Year Tyler Barnes of the Toledo Walleye

PRINCETON, N.J. - The ECHL on Monday announced that Tyler Barnes of the Toledo Walleye has been named CCM Rookie of the Year and the recipient of the John A. Daley Memorial Trophy .

The award is presented annually to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition in the ECHL as determined in a vote of ECHL coaches, broadcasters, media relations directors and media members.. The trophy was named in honor of John A. Daley in 1997. Daley, who passed away in 1996, was one of the founding fathers of the ECHL, serving as general manger and minority owner of the Johnstown Chiefs from the inception of the team in 1988 until 1994.

Jason Bast of Idaho finished second, followed by Wheeling's Derek Army, Greg Wolfe of Alaska and Tulsa's Jeff Jubinville .

The ECHL will announce the winner of the Coach of the Year and recipient of the John Brophy Award on Tuesday.

Barnes, who was named to the ECHL All-Rookie Team last week, led ECHL rookies in scoring with 74 points (34g-40a) in 71 games this season, which was also tied for eighth overall in the league. His 30 goals were tied for second among first-year players and he was tied for second with 40 assists. He also led all first-year players with 12 power-play goals and 19 power-play points. Under contract with Grand Rapids of the American Hockey League, Barnes was the ECHL Rookie of the Month for December after scoring 17 points (7g-10a) in 13 games during the month.

Barnes played the previous four seasons at the University of Wisconsin, totaling 101 points (45g-56a) in 152 games. Prior to joining the Badgers, he spent two seasons with Waterloo of the USHL.

ECHL Rookie of the Year Winners


2015 Tyler Barnes Toledo Walleye

2014 William Rapuzzi Idaho Steelheads

2013 Ryan Zapolski South Carolina Stingrays

2012 Dustin Gazley Elmira Jackals

2011 Ben Street Wheeling Nailers

2010 Justin Donati Elmira Jackals

2009 Bryan Ewing Wheeling Nailers

2008 David Desharnais Cincinnati Cyclones

2007 Colton Fretter Gwinnett Gladiators

2006 Alex Leavitt Alaska Aces

2005 Joey Tenute South Carolina Stingrays

2004 Kevin Doell Gwinnett Gladiators

2003 Jason Jaffray Roanoke Express

2002 Frederic Cloutier Louisiana IceGators

2001 Scott Stirling Trenton Titans

2000 Jan Lasak Hampton Roads Admirals

1999 Maxime Gingras Richmond Renegades

1998 Sean Venedam Toledo Storm

1997 Dany Bousquet Birmingham Bulls

1996 Keli Corpse Wheeling Thunderbirds

1995 Kevin McKinnon Erie Panthers

1994 Dan Gravelle Greensboro Monarchs

1993 Joe Flanagan Birmingham Bulls

1992 Darren Colbourne Dayton Bombers

1991 Dan Gauthier Knoxville Cherokees

1990 Bill McDougall Erie Panthers

1989 Tom Sasso Johnstown Chiefs

Images from this story

ECHL Rookie of the Year Tyler Barnes of the Toledo Walleye
ECHL Rookie of the Year Tyler Barnes of the Toledo Walleye


• Discuss this story on the ECHL message board...

ECHL Stories from April 13, 2015

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central