NFL, MLB, CFL stats

Allen's Costello Wins ECHL Scoring Title

April 13, 2015 - ECHL (ECHL) News Release

Chad Costello of the Allen Americans
Chad Costello of the Allen Americans

PRINCETON, N.J. - The ECHL on Monday announced that Chad Costello of the Allen Americans has won the league scoring championship with 125 points (41g-84a).

Idaho's Wade MacLeod was second with 80 points (38g-42a) followed by Jesse Schultz of Rapid City (34g-43a), Alaska's Brendan Connolly (31g-46a) and Drew Fisher of Tulsa (18g-59a) who were all tied for third with 77 points each.

Costello, who was named to All-ECHL First Team and also received the ECHL Sportsmanship Award, also led the league with 84 assists, 35 power-play assists and 44 power-play points while he was tied for second with 41 goals and was third in plus-minus at +43.

The 28-year-old had at least one point in all but eight games this season and had 38 multi-point games. Costello's 125 points are the most in the ECHL since Hugo Belanger had 144 points in 1995-96, and are the ninth most points in a single-season in league history while his 84 assists are tied for the fifth most in a single season all-time.

ECHL Leading Scorer Award Winners


2015 Chad Costello Allen Americans 125 points

2014 Brandon Marino Fort Wayne Komets 88 points

2013 Mathieu Roy Florida Everblades 89 points

2012 Dustin Gazley Elmira Jackals 85 points

2011 Justin Donati Elmira Jackals 94 points

2010 Tyler Donati Elmira Jackals 114 points

2009 Kevin Baker Florida Everblades 102 points

2008 David Desharnais Cincinnati Cyclones 106 points

2007 Brad Schell Gwinnett Gladiators 110 points

2006 Alex Leavitt Alaska Aces 91 points

2005 Scott Gomez Alaska Aces 86 points

2004 Tim Smith Columbia Inferno 95 points

2003 Buddy Smith Arkansas RiverBlades 104 points

2002 Louis Dumont Pensacola IcePilots 102 points

2001 Scott King Charlotte Checkers 101 points

2000 John Spoltore Louisiana IceGators 119 points

1999 John Spoltore Louisiana IceGators 109 points

1998 Jamey Hicks Birmingham Bulls 119 points

1997 Ed Courtenay South Carolina Stingrays 110 points

1996 Hugo P. Belanger Nashville Knights 144 points

1995 Scott Burfoot Erie Panthers 97 points

1994 Phil Berger Greensboro Monarchs 139 points

1993 Trevor Jobe Nashville Knights 161 points

1992 Phil Berger Greensboro Monarchs 130 points

1991 Stan Drulia Knoxville Cherokees 140 points

1990 Bill McDougall Erie Panthers 148 points

1989 Daryl Harpe Erie Panthers 122 points

Images from this story

Chad Costello of the Allen Americans
Chad Costello of the Allen Americans


• Discuss this story on the ECHL message board...

ECHL Stories from April 13, 2015

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew