Sports stats



 New Mexico Ice Wolves

Three New Mexico Players Named to NAHL Top Prospects Rosters

January 18, 2024 - North American Hockey League (NAHL)
New Mexico Ice Wolves News Release


Three New Mexico Ice Wolves players were included in today's North American Hockey League (NAHL) announcement of rosters for today the Top Prospects Tournament that will take place at the UPMC Lemieux Sports Complex in Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania February 5-6

The Ice Wolves representatives are:

Yusaku Ando who has scored 142 points in 217 career junior hockey games. Ando is currently the leading scorer on the NM Ice Wolves with 10 goals and 29 assists for a total of 39 points this season. As Captain for Japan last year Ando tallied 2 goals and 2 assists in 5 games to lead his country's national team to the World Championship Gold Medal in the IIHF Group B tournament. Ando was named to the South Division team at Top Prospects.

Dillon Kuntz, a second year defenseman for the NM Ice Wolves played in all 60 games last season tallying 6 goals and 14 assists for a total of 20 points. Dillon was named an alternate captain with the team this season and so far has 4 goals and 13 assists for a total of 17 points in just 36 games this season. Kuntz was also named to the South Division team at Top Prospects.

Ryan Seelinger, a rookie, has made his immediate impact on the Ice Wolves scoring 12 goals and 16 assists in just his first 42 games with New Mexico. Seelinger, already committed to the University of Miami-Ohio, is looking continue to improve his game with the leagues best. Seelinger will play on the NAHL Selects Gold Team which was selected in conjunction with NHL Central Scouting.

The Ice Wolves organization is extremely proud of Yusaku, Dillon, and Ryan and looking forward to cheering them on February 5-6 as they represent the Ice Wolves. "All three players are tireless workers and great teammates who have earned their way to this tournament and we are all excited to see them play in front of scouts and coaches from nearly all NCAA hockey teams", said NM Ice Wolves coach Phil Fox.

Each team will play two games in the Top Prospects Tournament and all games will be carried live and in HDTV on NAHL TV. The schedule is below:

Monday, February 5th

2:00pm ET/12 Noon MT: Midwest vs. East

4:45pm ET/2:45pm MT: NAHL Selects Silver vs. NAHL Selects Gold

7:30pm ET/5:30pm MT: Central vs. South

Tuesday, February 6th

10:00am ET/8am MT: Midwest vs. NAHL Selects Silver

12:45pm ET/10:45am MT: South vs. NAHL Selects Gold

3:30pm ET/1:30pm MT: East vs. Central

For more information on the 2024 NAHL Top Prospects Tournament, please visit: nahl.com/tpt/


• Discuss this story on the North American Hockey League message board...

North American Hockey League Stories from January 18, 2024


The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

OurSports Central