NFL, MLB, CFL stats

NWSL Announces 2021 Allocated Players List

February 25, 2021 - Major League Soccer (MLS) - Portland Timbers News Release

CHICAGO - The National Women's Soccer League today announced the list of allocated players from the United States and Canada for the upcoming 2021 season. Allocated players are players who will have their salaries paid by the U.S. Soccer Federation or Canada Soccer, respectively. A total of 32 players will be participating as allocated players in 2021, 22 from U.S. Soccer and 10 from Canada Soccer.

There are nine players on this year's list who were not allocated in 2020. Chicago Red Stars defender Bianca St. Georges, OL Reign midfielder Quinn and Orlando Pride goalkeeper Erin McLeod are now allocated by Canada. This is the first time St. Georges will be participating as an allocated player with Quinn returning for the first time since 2018 and McLeod returning for the first time since 2015. Portland Thorns FC forward Sophia Smith, Sky Blue FC defender Margaret "Midge" Purce and Washington Spirit midfielder Andi Sullivan will participate as first time U.S. allocated players, while Houston Dash midfielder Kristie Mewis returns to the list for the first time since 2015, and Dash goalkeeper Jane Campbell and North Carolina Courage forward Lynn Williams for the first time since 2018.

Morgan Gautrat (Brian), Allie Long and Shelina Zadorsky are no longer allocated by their respective federations.

2021 NWSL Allocated Players List (by club):

Chicago Red Stars

Tierna Davidson (USA)

Julie Ertz (USA)

Casey Krueger (USA)

Alyssa Naeher (USA)

Mallory Pugh (USA)

Bianca St. Georges (CAN)*

Houston Dash

Jane Campbell (USA)*

Allysha Chapman (CAN)

Kristie Mewis (USA)*

Nichelle Prince (CAN)

Sophie Schmidt (CAN)

Kansas City

Desiree Scott (CAN)

Diana Matheson (CAN)

North Carolina Courage

Samantha Mewis (USA)**

Lynn Williams (USA)*

Orlando Pride

Ashlyn Harris (USA)

Ali Krieger (USA)

Erin McLeod (CAN)*

Alex Morgan (USA)

OL Reign

Rose Lavelle (USA)**

Quinn (CAN)*

Megan Rapinoe (USA)

Portland Thorns FC

Adrianna Franch (USA)

Becky Sauerbrunn (USA)

Christine Sinclair (CAN)

Sophia Smith (USA)*

Racing Louisville FC


Sky Blue FC

Carli Lloyd (USA)

Margaret "Midge" Purce (USA)*

Kailen Sheridan (CAN)

Washington Spirit

Kelley O'Hara (USA)

Emily Sonnett (USA)

Andi Sullivan (USA)*

* = New Allocated Player in 2021

** = Player who will receive an allocated salary from U.S. Soccer should they return to the NWSL for the 2021 Season

The 2021 NWSL Challenge Cup will kick off the league's historic ninth season on April 9 and the NWSL's 10 teams will face off in a 24-game regular season beginning May 15.

• Discuss this story on the Major League Soccer message board...

Major League Soccer Stories from February 25, 2021

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

OurSports Central