NFL, MLB, CFL stats

MNUFC Defender Ike Opara Named Defender of the Year

October 17, 2019 - Major League Soccer (MLS) - Minnesota United FC News Release

GOLDEN VALLEY, Minn. - Major League Soccer and Minnesota United announced today defender Ike Opara has been named the 2019 MLS Defender of the Year. The centerback becomes the fourth player in MLS history to win Defender of the Year multiple times, previously capturing the award in 2017 while with Sporting Kansas City.

Opara guided Minnesota to its first ever trip to the Audi 2019 MLS Cup Playoffs, transforming the defense from among the worst in MLS history to among the best in the league. After arriving to the team from Sporting KC in one of the biggest trades in league history, Opara helped Minnesota improve from its 2018 season in which it allowed 71 goals, then tied for the second-most in league history. This season, Minnesota allowed a mere 43 goals, third-best in the Western Conference, with the 28-goal decrease ranking as the third-best turnaround in MLS history.

Behind Opara's leadership, Minnesota finished fourth in the Western Conference, securing home-field advantage in Round One of the Audi 2019 MLS Cup Playoffs, where it will host its first ever postseason game at the brand-new Allianz Field. Opara played in 30 regular season games this season for the Loons, tying a career-high with three goals scored to go along with an assist across 2,566 minutes played. The North Carolina native finished third in the league with 155 clearances and his 22 blocked shots were among the top 20 in MLS this season.

Video soundbytes from Ike Opara and Minnesota United FC Head Coach Adrian Heath are available HERE

The No. 3 overall pick in the 2010 MLS SuperDraft presented by adidas, Opara becomes only the fourth player to win multiple Defender of the Year awards, joining Carlos Bocanegra, Robin Fraser and Chad Marshall. Outside of MLS regular season play, Opara helped Minnesota advance to the finals of the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup this season.

Minnesota United FC will host the LA Galaxy at Allianz Field in Round One of the Audi 2019 MLS Cup Playoffs on Sunday, October 20 (7:30 p.m. CT, ESPN / ESPN Deportes / WatchESPN).

The award was voted on by MLS club technical staff, media and current MLS players. Below is a breakdown of the voting results:

Defender of the Year Player % Club % Media % Final %

Ike Opara (MIN) 25.75% 27.27% 44.88% 32.64%

Walker Zimmerman (LAFC) 20.40% 17.17% 12.20% 16.59%

Miles Robinson (ATL) 19.40% 13.13% 15.75% 16.09%

Maxime Chanot (NYC) 1.67% 16.16% 4.33% 7.39%

Eddie Segura (LAFC) 4.35% 9.09% 5.91% 6.45%

Aaron Long (NY) 2.34% 5.05% 1.97% 3.12%

MLS Defender of the Year Winners:

2019: Ike Opara - Minnesota United FC

2018: Aaron Long - New York Red Bulls

2017: Ike Opara - Sporting Kansas City

2016: Matt Hedges - FC Dallas

2015: Laurent Ciman - Montreal Impact

2014: Chad Marshall - Seattle Sounders FC

2013: Jose Goncalves - New England Revolution

2012: Matt Besler - Sporting Kansas City

2011: Omar Gonzalez - LA Galaxy

2010: Jamison Olave - Real Salt Lake

2009: Chad Marshall - Columbus Crew SC

2008: Chad Marshall - Columbus Crew SC

2007: Michael Parkhurst - New England Revolution

2006: Bobby Boswell - D.C. United

2005: Jimmy Conrad - Kansas City Wizards

2004: Robin Fraser - Columbus Crew SC

2003: Carlos Bocanegra - Chicago Fire

2002: Carlos Bocanegra - Chicago Fire

2001: Jeff Agoos - San Jose Earthquakes

2000: Peter Vermes - Kansas City Wizards

1999: Robin Fraser - LA Galaxy

1998: Lubos Kubik - Chicago Fire

1997: Eddie Pope - D.C. United

1996: John Doyle - San Jose Earthquakes

• Discuss this story on the Major League Soccer message board...

Major League Soccer Stories from October 17, 2019

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

OurSports Central