Sports stats

 FC Cincinnati

Luciano Acosta Wins 2023 AT&T 5G MLS Goal of the Year

November 9, 2023 - Major League Soccer (MLS)
FC Cincinnati News Release

FC Cincinnati midfielder Luciano Acosta has won the 2023 AT&T 5G MLS Goal of the Year award for his stunning solo goal against Charlotte FC on September 23, Major League Soccer announced today.

Acosta's magical moment came in the 78th minute when he took possession in Cincinnati's half, beginning his run by dribbling through the legs of a Charlotte defender whom he beat. He then beat another defender, running towards the Bailey at TQL Stadium, and beat a third man en route to placing a perfect finish into the top corner of the net to finish off his superb effort.

Acosta's award is FC Cincinnati's first Goal of the Year since joining MLS. The 2023 MLS Goal of the Year was determined by fan votes on and has been awarded since the league's inaugural 1996 season.

MLS Goal of the Year Winners:

2023: Luciano Acosta - FC Cincinnati | 9/23/23 vs. Charlotte FC, 78th minute

2022: Josef Martínez - Atlanta United | 10/1/22 vs. New England Revolution, 81st minute

2021: Rubio Rubin - Real Salt Lake | 5/7/21 vs. San Jose Earthquakes, 43rd minute

2020: Darlington Nagbe - Columbus Crew SC | 8/20/20 vs. Chicago Fire FC, 81st minute

2019: Josef Martínez - Atlanta United | 9/18/19 vs. FC Cincinnati, 65th minute

2018: Zlatan Ibrahimović - LA Galaxy | 3/31/18 vs. Los Angeles Football Club, 77th minute

2017: Héctor Villalba - Atlanta United | 7/21/17 vs. Orlando City SC, 86th minute

2016: Shkëlzen Gashi - Colorado Rapids | 9/24/16 vs. Vancouver Whitecaps FC, 75th minute

2015: Krisztián Németh - Sporting Kansas City | 10/4/15 vs. Portland Timbers, 83rd minute

2014: Obafemi Martins - Seattle Sounders FC | 5/23/14 vs. San Jose Earthquakes, 8th minute

2013: Camilo Sanvezzo - Vancouver Whitecaps FC | 10/6/13 vs. Portland Timbers, 78th minute

2012: Patrick Ianni - Seattle Sounders FC | 6/20/12 vs. Sporting Kansas City, 15th minute

2011: Darlington Nagbe - Portland Timbers | 7/2/11 vs. Sporting Kansas City, 45th minute

2010: Marco Pappa - Chicago Fire | 4/10/10 vs. San Jose Earthquakes, 52nd minute

2009: Landon Donovan - LA Galaxy | 8/8/09 vs. New England Revolution, 21st minute

2008: Will Johnson - Real Salt Lake | 10/18/08 vs. FC Dallas, 54th minute

2007: Cuauhtémoc Blanco - Chicago Fire | 8/18/07 vs. Real Salt Lake, 43rd minute

2006: Brian Ching - Houston Dynamo | 9/30/06 v D.C. United, 86th minute

2005: Dwayne De Rosario - San Jose Earthquakes | 10/15/05 vs. LA Galaxy, 45th minute

2004: Dwayne De Rosario - San Jose Earthquakes | 8/7/04 vs. D.C. United, 82nd minute

2003: Damani Ralph - Chicago Fire | 8/13/03 vs. Columbus Crew SC, 90th minute

2002: Carlos Ruiz - LA Galaxy | 7/27/02 vs. Columbus Crew SC, 75th minute

2001: Clint Mathis - MetroStars | 4/28/01 vs. Dallas Burn, 60th minute

2000: Marcelo Balboa - Colorado Rapids | 4/22/00 vs. Columbus Crew SC, 55th minute

1999: Marco Etcheverry - D.C. United | 5/22/99 vs. Miami Fusion, 90th minute

1998: Brian McBride - Columbus Crew | 7/9/98 vs. Chicago Fire, 68th minute

1997: Marco Etcheverry - D.C. United | 8/27/97 vs. New England Revolution, 39th minute

1996: Eric Wynalda - San Jose Clash | 4/6/96 vs. D.C. United, 88th minute

FC Cincinnati will host Philadelphia Union in an Eastern Conference Semifinal showdown at TQL Stadium on either November 25 or 26. Tickets are on sale now at or by calling (513) 977-5425 (KICK). For more information on FC Cincinnati in the Audi 2023 MLS Cup Playoffs, visit

• Discuss this story on the Major League Soccer message board...

Major League Soccer Stories from November 9, 2023

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

OurSports Central