Major League Soccer

St. Louis CITY SC's Roman Bürki Named Allstate MLS Goalkeeper of the Year Award

November 9, 2023 - Major League Soccer (MLS) News Release

NEW YORK - Major League Soccer today announced that St. Louis CITY SC goalkeeper Roman Bürki has been named the 2023 Allstate MLS Goalkeeper of the Year award. Bürki is the first goalkeeper to win the award while playing for an expansion club in its inaugural MLS season since Chicago Fire FC's Zach Thornton won it in 1998. He is the first-ever St. Louis CITY SC player to earn an individual MLS Year-End Award honor.

Bürki's 17 wins is the most of any goalkeeper in their first MLS season during the post-shootout era and is tied with Mark Dodd and Mark Dougherty (both in 1996) for the most wins including the shootout era. The Switzerland international's 42 goals conceded are the fewest of any goalkeeper to play at least 30 games during an expansion club's inaugural season in a 34-game season. Overall, only Joe Cannon (38 in a 30-game season) conceded less goals for the San Jose Earthquakes in 2008.

He was one of three goalkeepers to record over 100 saves in MLS this season (123) and led the trio with the highest save percentage at 74.55 percent. His 123 saves on the year are the second-most among all goalkeepers in MLS this season and his save percentage is fourth highest among active MLS goalkeepers to play in at least 20 games. Bürki is the first goalkeeper to produce at least 120 saves and eight clean sheets in a season since Vito Mannone in 2019, and he has the second highest save percentage of all goalkeepers to keep at least eight clean sheets this season.

The Swiss shot-stopper is the fifth player to earn the goalkeeping accolade in their first MLS season and the first since Mannone won the award with Minnesota United FC in 2019. He is also the first Swiss-born goalkeeper to be named Allstate MLS Goalkeeper of the Year and just the third European to claim the honor, joining Mannone (Italy) and Jimmy Nielsen (Denmark).

Photo and video assets from Roman Bürki's 2023 MLS regular season are available here. The Allstate MLS Goalkeeper of the Year, which honors the best goalkeeper in MLS during the 2023 regular season, was voted on by MLS club technical staff, media, and current MLS players. Below is a breakdown of the voting results, with finalists Roman Celentano (FC Cincinnati) and Pedro Gallese (Orlando City SC) finishing tied for second in the voting:

Allstate MLS Goalkeeper of the Year Voting Breakdown

Name Player Vote Club Vote Media Vote Average Vote

Roman Bürki (STL) 60.61% 70.74% 71.1% 67.48%

Roman Celentano (CIN) 6.06% 4.89% 3.47% 4.80%

Pedro Gallese (ORL) 3.03% 7.32% 4.05% 4.80%

A full list of previous Allstate MLS Goalkeeper of the Year award winners can be found below:

Allstate MLS Goalkeeper of the Year Winners

Season Player Club

2023 Roman Bürki St. Louis CITY SC

2022 Andre Blake Philadelphia Union

2021 Matt Turner New England Revolution

2020 Andre Blake Philadelphia Union

2019 Vito Mannone Minnesota United FC

2018 Zack Steffen Columbus Crew

2017 Tim Melia Sporting Kansas City

2016 Andre Blake Philadelphia Union

2015 Luis Robles New York Red Bulls

2014 Bill Hamid D.C. United

2013 Donovan Ricketts Portland Timbers

2012 Jimmy Nielsen Sporting Kansas City

2011 Kasey Keller Seattle Sounders FC

2010 Donovan Ricketts LA Galaxy

2009 Zach Thornton Chivas USA

2008 Jon Busch Chicago Fire

2007 Brad Guzan Chivas USA

2006 Troy Perkins D.C. United

2005 Pat Onstad San Jose Earthquakes

2004 Joe Cannon Colorado Rapids

2003 Pat Onstad San Jose Earthquakes

2002 Joe Cannon San Jose Earthquakes

2001 Tim Howard MetroStars

2000 Tony Meola Kansas City Wizards

1999 Kevin Hartman LA Galaxy

1998 Zach Thornton Chicago Fire

1997 Brad Friedel Columbus Crew

1996 Mark Dodd Dallas Burn

• Discuss this story on the Major League Soccer message board...

Major League Soccer Stories from November 9, 2023

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central